Family best chocolate chip cookies

There isn’t much better than a warm homemade chocolate chip cookie. I personally don’t know ANYONE who doesn’t like chocolate chips cookies. I kind of sometimes think of cookies or cakes more of a winter dessert. But chocolate chip cookies are in, no matter the weather. For example, on a cool day like today you can’t say no to the warm oven and amazing smell as these bake.

IMG_1447

These have been the go-to recipe for my family since for as long as I remember. I know the original recipe page from the recipe book has been torn out long ago from use and stained over time with Crisco and chocolate chips. Best part – you probably have all these ingredients on hand.

IMG_1442

Every family has a ‘go-to’ chocolate chip cookie recipe, right? This is what our family loves. They have not failed me yet.

Family Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

  • 1 1/2 c brown sugar
  • 1 1/2 c white sugar
  • 1 1/2 c shortening
  • 1 stick margarine
  • 4 1/2 cup sifted flour
  • 4 eggs
  • 2 tsp. vanilla
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 2 tsp. soda
  • 1 18 0z package chocolate chips – milk chocolate, semi-sweet, dark – whatever you want

Cream together sugars, shortening and margarine. Add eggs and vanilla and mix. Sift together the flour, salt and soda and gradually mix into the wet mixture. I typically do this in thirds. Last, stir in your chips. Bake at 350 at 10-12 minutes. Under baking is best. You may have to add extra flour if your cookies runs. If you are unsure, test your cookies by baking one all alone. I like to use a medium size Tastefully Simple scoop for this. The ones you see below are a large scoop! They bake well at any size, just adjust time accordingly.

IMG_1448

These are, naturally, best straight out of the oven.

IMG_1449

I love the crisp edges, but soft middle. Best of both worlds, right there!

IMG_1451

Enjoy! Remember to eat warm if possible! And with a glass of cold milk.

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Baking, Cookies. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Family best chocolate chip cookies

  1. Pingback: Candy Bar Cookies | Feisty Eats

Leave a comment