Chocolate Dipped Strawberry Pie

You guys. This is THE summer dessert you need to have in your fridge. You should just go ahead and double the recipe. One for you your family and one for a friend. The photo below looks like a nicely topped strawberry pie of sorts, right?

IMG_1567

But, oh no! The surprise is on the inside – hence, the chocolate dip portion of the title. This is true love.

IMG_1607

I don’t even know how I came about this recipe as the site I found it on is great, but this was posted a couple years ago. Anyway, I am so glad I found it!! Generally, I change a little something about a recipe I find, but this is perfect as is.

IMG_1549

Honestly, do yourself a favor and double this recipe. This is so easy to double and any friend, co-worker or family member will appreciate this gift. This pie is no bake and is a perfect warm weather treat! This looks like a lot of steps, but is a breeze.

Chocolate Dipped Strawberry Pie as found on My Name is Snicker Doodle website.

1 graham cracker crust

Chocolate Layer
1/2 cup whipping cream
1 cup semi sweet chocolate chips

Cream Cheese Layer
1 8 oz. cream cheese, softened
1 cup white chocolate chips
2 Tbsp. orange juice (fresh squeezed)
2 tsp. grated lemon peel

Topping
1/2 to 1 container of fresh strawberries, hulled and sliced (depends on how much you like strawberries)
1/2 cup sugar

Melt whipping cream and chocolate chips using a double broiler until mixture is smooth. Pour into crust and chill for 1 1/2 hours in the fridge, or flash freeze. Once chocolate is chilled, using a hand mixer, mix cream cheese, orange juice and lemon zest. Place white chocolate chips in the clean double broiler and melt until smooth. (If you do not have a double broiler, you could use your microwave, but keep a very close eye on the chips, especially the white ones). Once chocolate is melted, add to cream cheese mixture and mix until incorporated. Spread evenly over chocolate layer. Chill for another 2 hours. To make the topping, place hulled and sliced strawberries in a bowl and add sugar. Let the strawberries macerate while the cake is setting in the fridge. Just before serving, add strawberries and some juice to the top of the pie. Enjoy!

IMG_1550IMG_1551

I melted my chips and whipping cream in my make-shift double broiler. This works just fine. This will all come together in time to make a thick, dark, creamy chocolate mixture. You could microwave this but I have a hatred for my microwave after it scorched FOUR bags of chocolate chips. Don’t ask. I am still recovering from that day.

IMG_1552

If you double the recipe (do it!) just try to evenly divide the chocolate.

IMG_1553

Your kitchen will also smell amazing after slicing berries, squeezing orange juice and grating the lemon peel. A large navel orange produced 4 Tbsp. of juice for me.

IMG_1555IMG_1559

I wanted to show you how much liquid the strawberries produce when sprinkled with sugar. Before on left – no juice and after on the right – they are over half full with delicious juice after sitting for about 1 hour. Yum!

IMG_1558IMG_1560

While the chips are slowly melting in the double broiler, mix together your cream cheese, OJ and lemon rind. You want it nice and fluffy.

IMG_1561IMG_1562

Add the chips to the cream cheese mixture and spread into the pies evenly. Refrigerate for a few hours to set up.

IMG_1566IMG_1568

Just before serving, top with berries and some berry juice.

IMG_1606 

Eat. My Mom and I said we didn’t even need the strawberries! But they do add a nice touch.

IMG_1608

The chocolate ganache balances well with the cream cheese mix. Cream cheese + citrus + white chocolate = a must have combo.

IMG_1569

Even my dog wants some. I made 4 of these pies. Don’t tell anyone.

Enjoy!

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Baking, Dessert. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

