Candy Bar Cookies

Recently I found myself in possession of several candy bars of different flavors. This was dangerous. If I get bored, I tend to snack. I don’t need to do that. So what is a girl to do? How about visit her Mom and make cookies together! Yes! Candy Bar Cookies. Candy bars in chocolate chip cookies. Does it get better? No, it does not!!

IMG_3741

Candy Bar Cookies

  • Your favorite chocolate chip cookie recipe (see mine below or you could even use store bought!)
  • Assorted candy bars to your taste, chopped (the number of bars you use depend on your taste preference and how much dough you have)

Mix raw chocolate chip cookie dough with cut up candy bars. Incorporate all at once (if you have similar candy bars) or separate dough into piles and mix chopped up candy bars to your preference. Bake cookies as directed.

Family Best Chocolate Chip Cookies – which I posted a while back

  • 1 1/2 c brown sugar
  • 1 1/2 c white sugar
  • 1 1/2 c shortening
  • 1 stick margarine
  • 4 1/2 cup sifted flour
  • 4 eggs
  • 2 tsp. vanilla
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 2 tsp. soda
  • 2 cups chocolate chips – milk chocolate, semi-sweet, dark – whatever you want

Cream together sugars, shortening and margarine. Add eggs and vanilla and mix. Sift together the flour, salt and soda and gradually mix into the wet mixture. I typically do this in thirds. Last, stir in your chips. Bake at 350 at 10-12 minutes. Under baking is best. You may have to add extra flour if your cookies run. If you are unsure, test your cookies by baking one all alone. I like to use a medium size Tastefully Simple scoop for this. The ones you see below are a large scoop! They bake well at any size, just adjust time accordingly.

IMG_3742

I grouped a few similar candy bars together: Mr. Goodbar, caramel Twix, 100 Grand and Reese’s Fast Break. I chopped them (rough chop) and added to about half of my cookie dough. These were all chocolate and some caramel and peanut butter and I thought the flavors would work. They did!

IMG_3743IMG_3744

I just grouped the dough into a smaller dough and kept the plain cookie dough in the fridge until I was ready to work with it.

IMG_3745

After and before.

IMG_3749

Here is a close up after they had baked and mostly cooled. Just look at those lovely pockets of melty candy bars! YES!!

IMG_3752

Here are a few where the caramel melted on the edge. For any caramel lovers – this is kind of a jackpot. It gets a bit hard and crunchy on the edge. Until you eat it and it melts!

IMG_3753

I did the Hershey’s Cookies ‘N Cream candy bars all alone with the chocolate chip cookies. They turned out great.

IMG_3754

These are the Butterfingers I also did alone. These made the cookies a little more flat, but gave them that awesome butterscotch like flavor!

IMG_3756

I wanted to do the Rolo’s alone. I know Mr. FeistyEats likes that candy bar so I was hoping he’d like these cookies. I topped them warm out of the oven with either a full Rolo or a half Rolo. Those took overnight to fully cool.

IMG_3758

Overall, I made about 7 dozen cookies and here are the flavors from Top Left Clockwise: Almond Joy, Rolo, plain chocolate chip, multi candy bar, Butterfinger and Cookies N Cream. Use your imagination and come up with your favor flavor combos. This would be a great idea for left over Halloween candy. You know, if that happens in your household. Enjoy!

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Appetizer, Cookies, Dessert. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

