Mexican Skillet with Ground Beef, Sweet Potato and Pinto Beans

I didn’t really know what to call this recipe. As with a lot of my recipes, I found inspiration online, this time from Recipe Runner and her recipe that has chicken and black beans featured. I really think this is customizable to your preferences and feel free to mix it up. Mine ended up being quite heavy on peppers and tomatoes as that is what is exploding out of our garden. I’m still loving on my Instant Pot and have been making dried beans in it. I had made a big batch of pintos so used some from that mix, but you can surely use canned beans of your preference in this recipe.

MexiSkillet

I always try to chop the veggies in advance if possible because that takes me the longest. You’d think with how long I’ve been cooking, I’d be better with my knife skills but I am pretty slow. Another shortcut is to make your sweet potato in advance. I simply nuked mine in the microwave and let it cool overnight so I could chop it easily.

For this dish, I prefer it served atop a bed of greens. The dish already has some good carbs from the sweet potato and beans so you don’t want it to be too heavy. Although, this would make a great pizza topper if you used taco sauce as the sauce I bet!

20170831_175557

I like the mix of cold lettuce topped with the warm skillet, it wilts the greens a bit and I topped mine with a bit of cheese, some avocado and fresh onion, tomato and pepper. Delicious.

Mexican Skillet with Ground Beef, Sweet Potato and Pinto Beans, serves 6-8

INGREDIENTS

  • pound ground beef
  • 1 onion, diced – I used red 
  • 2 green peppers, diced
  • 4 grilling (any mild) peppers, diced
  • 2 jalapeno peppers, diced
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 heaping Tablespoon ground cumin
  • heaping Tablespoon chili powder
  • 1 heaping teaspoon dried oregano
  • 3/4 teaspoon kosher salt or to taste
  • 1/4 teaspoon fresh ground black pepper
  • 1/4 to 1/2 cup water
  • sweet potato, peeled, par-cooked and diced 
  • 2 cups tomatoes, diced
  • 2 cups or 1-15 ounce can pinto beans, rinsed and drained
  • 1/2 lime, juiced

Garnish: Salsa, pico, diced onion/tomato/pepper, cheese, avocado, cilantro, lettuce, sour cream, etc.

INSTRUCTIONS

  1. Heat a large (10-12 inch) cast iron or non-stick skillet over medium-high heat. Add ground beef and cook/crumble until done. Set aside or drain if needed. Leave a bit of grease in your skillet.
  2. Add onion and all peppers and saute until just starting to brown, about 5 minutes or so. If the veggies are sticking, just add a dash of water to loosen things up. Add in garlic and saute another minute.
  3. Add in all spices. Return beef to skillet. Add in anywhere from 1/4 to 1/2 cup of water and still everything together until thickened. About 2-3 minutes.
  4. Lower the heat to medium and add in sweet potato, tomatoes, beans and lime juice.
  5. Stir together and cook until the mixture is heated through, approximately 5 minutes.
  6. Garnish with your favorite taco toppings and serve.

20170831_181037

This is what my skillet looked like as it was done cooking. Your house will be filled with wonderful aromas!

20170831_182231

The sweet potato adds a nice bite when mixed with the spices and peppers. Try this dish to switch up your taco night just a bit. Enjoy!

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Dinner, Dinner idea, Main Dish, Salad, Veggie. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

