Jalapeno Popper Pizza

I know she drives some people crazy, but I really like Rachael Ray. She is probably one of the first Food Network hosts I really took interest in and started watching. I loved her 30 minute meal ideas even though I really wouldn’t make a lot of them, sometimes I HAD to cook what she was cooking. I have a few of her cookbooks. Actually hers and Ree Drummond, the Pioneer Woman, are staples on my nightstand. I enjoy her monthly magazine, Rachael Ray, Every Day. The photos are bright and vibrants, I enjoy the layout, the lack of dessert recipes, her inclusion of a little bit of clothing/décor/jewelry, dogs and most of the recipes are relatable or easy enough to make at home. When I saw her feature the Jalapeno Popper Pizza, I knew this would be something we’d like at my house and I bookmarked it to make soon.

JalapenoPopperPizza

It is the season of peppers and we have been getting some BIG jalapenos in our CSA basket and in our garden. I decided to change up the recipe to suite my needs and what I had on hand for veggies. I changed it quite a bit but the peppers and sweet corn still shine through.

Jalapeno Popper Pizza, serves 4

Ingredients

  • 1 tsp. oil
  • 1 medium onion, cut into half rings
  • 2 large jalapeno peppers, cut into ringed slices
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 cup, packed Swiss chard (or other hearty greens), sliced
  • 4 whole grain tortillas
  • 4 servings Laughing Cow Cheese wedges, flavor of your choice
  • 2 ears of corn, cut from the cob
  • 8 oz. chicken breast, cooked and sliced
  • 1 cup grated mozzarella

To garnish, jarred, pickled jalapeno slices and grated Parmesan-Romano cheese blend

Preparation

  1. Position a rack in the lower third of the oven; preheat to 450°. Preheat a large skillet on your stovetop over medium-high heat.
  2. Put oil in the skillet and place onion in to saute for about 3 minutes, until it gets some color. Add in jalapeno and cook another 2 minutes. Finally, add in garlic and greens and saute another minute. If you find your food sticking to your skillet, just add another splash of oil or some water.
  3. While food is sauteing, arrange 4 tortillas and smear with one Laughing Cow Wedge each.
  4. Add your corn and cooked chicken breast to the skillet and heat on medium until warmed through.
  5. Roughly divide your skillet contents onto the four tortillas and spread food to the edges. Top each tortilla with about a cup of mozzarella cheese. Place in pre-heated oven and bake 5 minutes or until crisp and starting to brown. Cut into 6-8 wedges and serve with a salad or veggie. Top with jarred jalapenos and grated cheese.

An excellent alternative would be to make these into wraps and reheat later for lunches or even freeze for lunches at another time.

Make sure you spread the ingredients out so you have at least some corn, onion, jalapenos and chicken on each slice.

20170829_174235

Rach’s magazine recipe with my creation. Pretty close!

One little tip for you. We eat dinner at home generally every night during the week. I don’t always COOK every night though. In the summer we grill at least once a week, often on a Monday or Tuesday. On that night, I make sure to plan ahead to take meat out to thaw for dinner and for future meals. Cook extra chicken breast, venison, or other meats that reheat well. If the grill is on, I will also grill additional veggies, potatoes, onions, etc. While all that food is grilling, take time to prep your veggies. Cut everything up – jalapenos, tomatoes, lettuce, green beans, etc. This just makes it easier for you to grab another night to go along with your main dish. Total time saver!

I did make the other two servings into wraps so we could have for lunch the same week.

20170829_174539

Serve with a garden salad and you have a fresh, filling, healthy meal. We loved these – we enjoy spicy foods. I could eat these over and over!

You can totally customize these to other veggies you have on hand, cheese you prefer, meat or no meat and use the crust of your choice. These would be great on the grill over the long holiday weekend. Enjoy!

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Appetizer, Dinner, Dinner idea, Healthy Living, Main Dish. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Jalapeno Popper Pizza

  1. How could you go wrong with jalapeño popper inspired pizza? Rachel Ray was one of my first food tv celebrity chefs too. I learned a lot from watching her cook! Like the garbage bowl and how to cut an onion.

Leave a Reply

