Whole Wheat Flax Oatmeal Banana Bread

I posted a similar recipe to this a while back but I have tweaked it a bit to my preferences and thought I’d share again since I deleted those photos. On accident. Oof. Oh well, we are here for fun anyway. I took a little break from posting because life is busy this summer and I don’t always feel like what I have to say is worth sharing to be honest. But, I keep coming back!

WWFOBB

This banana bread has been a staple of my weekly breakfast for the past several months. I enjoy it crumbled into yogurt, smeared with peanut butter or just a quick slice to grab out the door. I usually double the recipe, let it fully cool, slice it and store in the freezer. Each loaf makes 12 pieces so a double makes me through about 2 months. (On the weekends I try to eat something different or I am gone traveling.) When I freeze it, each package has 5 slices in it so I take it out Sunday evening, put it in the fridge to thaw and eat through the week. Fun fact – my husband likes the butt end pieces so he gets those. But, when it comes to bread, I LOVE the butt ends and he never eats them. He also likes the butt ends of crusty bread and sausage and I don’t so we are basically a match made in heaven. Haha.

This bread is packed full of good for you ingredients to start your day. I use super ripe bananas, unsweetened applesauce, almond milk and a splash of vinegar to keep the bread moist. The whole wheat flour, ground flax and oats give it a nice chew. Sure, this is “healthy” banana bread but it is slightly sweet between the fruit and a bit of added honey.

20170824_163246

Over the past few years I have really changed my way of eating and cooking. I used to look at recipes with ingredients like whole wheat flour and flaxseed as over the top and ingredients that were not pantry staples for me. Dates, chia seeds? Forget it! But, over time, I considered just trying a few recipes with items here and there. Come to find out, I like these ingredients and they are all now staples in my pantry. I haven’t ventured out too far yet but as long as something isn’t too $$$, I consider at least trying the item. I mean, it is food we ingest – it is worth our money. I like to think this recipe is a great starting point for trying out some of those maybe newer-to-you ingredients. I also like to think this is a great recipe that showcases some foods found here in ND like the honey, whole wheat flour and flax.

20170824_164715

Here’s my take on the bread!

20170824_164837

Whole Wheat Flax Oatmeal Banana Bread, 12 servings

INGREDIENTS

  • Cooking spray
  • 1 heaping cup mashed ripe banana, about 3
  • 1/3 cup honey (could sub brown sugar)
  • 1/3 cup unsweetened applesauce (I use a 4 oz. single serve cup)
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 Tablespoon white vinegar
  • 3/4 cup unsweetened vanilla almond milk (or skim, coconut, etc.)
  • 1 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1/2 cup ground flaxseed
  • 1 cup rolled oats
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon

INSTRUCTIONS

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Spray 9-inch loaf pan with nonstick cooking spray.

In large bowl combine mashed banana, honey, applesauce, vanilla, egg, vinegar and milk until well combined. In separate medium bowl whisk together whole wheat flour, flax, oats, baking powder, baking soda, salt and cinnamon. Add wet ingredients to dry ingredients and mix until just combined.

Pour into prepared loaf pan and bake for 60-70 minutes or until toothpick inserted into center comes out clean. I prefer mine on the more “rare” side and take out at 60 minutes. If you prefer more “well-done” continue to 70 minutes.

Remove from oven and place on wire rack to cool completely. Cut into 12 slices and enjoy. Wrap or cover bread to keep it fresh. Stores great in the fridges and for months in the freezer.

20170824_175539

If you are anything like me, you need to cut this and store so you don’t find yourself easily dipping into another piece. It is a “healthier” take on banana bread but moderation! Something I am definitely still working on! Enjoy.

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Baking, Breakfast, Healthy Living, Sides. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

