Glimpse of the Prairie, Farm in a Box

Glimpse of the Prairie is a mother/daughter business outside of the Bismarck-Mandan area and they sell CSA shares, goat milk soap products, flavored popcorn and Farm in a Box meal plans. I recently purchased the pizza meal plan and the BBQ meal plan which was actually a thank you gift to my parents for pet sitting while we went on vacation.

GlimpseofthePrairie

Farm in a Box couldn’t be easier. You need to order online on Sunday or Monday to pick up the following Saturday at BisMarket Farmers Market, located in the Kiwanis Park/Municipal ballpark parking lot off of Sweet Ave by Sertoma Park.

The best way I can describe these boxes would be something similar to Blue Apron or Hello Fresh – a meal plan where the ingredients come individually packaged, portioned and instructions for each meal is given. BUT, the best part if you are supporting a local ND company who is providing the food from either their own farm or sourced throughout North Dakota. From their website:

“Bring convenience to weekday meals with locally sourced foods. Nourish your family with locally inspired tastes made in your own kitchen. We provide high quality ingredients that are grown, raised, and artistically made in our community.”

PestoPizza

Our pizza box included crusts for four pizzas – a breakfast, Italian, BBQ chicken and spinach artichoke. I do believe they will work with you if you have certain dietary needs. Each pizza with a side was enough for a smaller meal for my husband and I. My favorite was the breakfast pizza. We did add some more fresh toppings from our fridge. Instructions included baking or grilling the pizzas.

I found the value and portions to be spot on. This isn’t something I will do weekly as I am not in Bismarck every week to pickup (I live about an hour out of town). However, it is great for a special treat and excellent to gift a friend or family member. I will be a repeat customer. Please check them out if you haven’t yet. I love supporting local, especially women!

 

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Breakfast, Dinner, Dinner idea, Grilling, Healthy Living, Informational, Main Dish, Misc. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Glimpse of the Prairie, Farm in a Box

  1. Hello! I just found your blog through prairie style file’s blog after you left a comment there. I am pretty new to North Dakota, and I was looking up bloggerss in North Dakota and things to do here when I found hers, and then yours :)) I’m not near Bismarck, but I’ll have to keep this in mind for when I may pass through there. Very cool & creative business idea!

  2. The pizzas look delicious. Would love something like this to make on a weeknight.

Leave a Reply

