Hood River, OR

After a night in Portland, we were off to Hood River for two nights. I honestly had not even heard of Hood River, but our friends had been there several times and assured us it was not to be missed. It is about 20 minutes from Multnomah Falls. Hood River is in the Columbia Gorge along the river and across from Washington state. Hood River is small, about 7,500 people and is quite touristy. I would say it is like Medora as far as a tourist town but much more modern and focused on dining, breweries and wineries. The area is known for its high winds and is popular with kite surfers. We are well accustomed to wind in ND but we didn’t really experience any high wind while there – it was sunny, breezy and warm. Just perfect.

HoodRiver

The town has several airBNB or VRBO options to pick from and we got a cute little condo within walking distance to downtown. We would usually walk downtown and then Uber home.

20170519_084846

Our unit was on the right hand side. We parked the vehicle in the garage for our stay which was nice. Our first order of business was visiting Marchesi Vineyards. The valley and actually, the state, produces a lot of fruit and there are many wineries to visit and taste. This one was quite charming on a beautiful day. We didn’t visit many vineyards outside of town since we all like to drink and be safe. I was so happy to visit this one though.

I mean, like a postcard, right? The views were stunning! There were two cats roaming the grounds and the most friendly server and patrons. Since it was the middle of the day, it was not busy. Great stop!

Dinner was at pFriem Family Brewers. It was so neat as you can see. You eat where the beer is made. And yes, I did eat those flowers.

Again, a lot of places to walk and run. In the top photo you can see someone enjoying the wind. It feels like all we really did was eat and drink but it was kind of the theme of the trip. Oregon is known for its beer, after all!

A few more stops included Full Sail Brewing for more hummus and check out my taster served in a sail. Creative. We also visited 64 Taphouse where you can get a draft beer canned to go! One word of advice from my husband, when visiting a city, always try to check out the local Elks, Legion or AmVets. These places always have cheap beer and friendly bartenders and patrons. Our bartender at the HR Elks suggested the 64 Taphouse and Hood River Distillers tasting room to us. Both excellent choices.

The two photos on the left are from dining at 6th Street Bistro in Hood River and the two on the right are just some spots I found kind of cute throughout downtown. I love the surfboard seating. I have to say throughout our time in Oregon, everyone and I mean every single person was so friendly and kind to us. Whether it was an employee at a restaurant or a person in the street, it really made for a pleasant trip.

A few more quick pics before I wrap this up. The top photo is just a home I saw on a morning run. I thought it really captured my feelings of HR. Quaint, well kept and beautiful. The photo on the left was part of a run one day. My buddy told me about these never ending steps and yep, I counted over 400 – great insert to a workout! The middle is just one of many dispensary signs we saw throughout Oregon. Makes me laugh. Finally, on our way out of town we stopped at Basik Cafe so I could try my first ever acai bowl. It was everything I hoped for and more. This made for a super refreshing breakfast after a long day prior of beer tasting! I hope I have many more in my future.

We headed back to Portland for a one year old’s birthday party. This was great as we got to see many family members on both sides of our friends families. We also got to visit the Nike employee store in Beaverton thanks to a hook up. What a stunning campus Nike has there, complete with an employee only running trail. After that, we were off to Bend, OR where our hosts live!

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Feisty Eats, FeistyLife, Informational, Misc. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

