Momma Jane’s Cookies

I rarely bake anymore. This little old blog started out with a lot of baked goods. But as time has gone on, I have switched to healthier treats and way less baking. But, I am only human. I still bake and love cookies. I actually posted this recipe a while back but I deleted a ton of photos on accident including those with that old post. So here it is again!

This recipe is from my friend, Katie, who blogs at The Pinke Post and I believe this is a family recipe as her Momma is Momma Jane. I am so lucky to have met a lot of friends through social media and Katie is one of them. A gal who shares my love of food, dogs and height. Tall women stick together.

cccookies

I volunteered to make cookies for a bake sale and this recipe makes A LOT – enough for the bake sale, some friends and a few for me too! The only change I make to the original recipe is adding a bit of cinnamon. Crisp edges………….soft interior………..cake flour is the secret ingredient. This would be amazing sandwiched with ice cream in the middle for Memorial weekend treats!

img_5579

Momma Jane’s Best Chocolate Chip Cookies
1 cup butter (room temperature)
1 cup oil (I used canola oil)
1-1/2 cup sugar
1-1/2 cup brown sugar
4 large eggs
1 Tablespoon vanilla extract
1 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon cinnamon
2 teaspoons baking soda
3 cups AP flour
2-1/2 to 3 cups cake flour 
6 cups baking chips – I used semi-sweet chocolate, peanut butter and Reese’s pieces here 
 
Cream butter, oil and sugars. Add eggs one at a time. Beat until fluffy (like 5 minutes). Add vanilla, salt, cinnamon and soda. Mix well. 
Add the flour and beat until mixed all the way to the bottom of the bowl. Do not over mix the dough. Add the chips and mix just until incorporated into the dough.
Bake cookies at 350 degrees for 8-10 minutes. 10 minutes is perfect in my oven. 

 

img_557820170212_113919

Here is the before and after. I did some thorough testing and am happy to share the dough is just as delicious as the baked cookie. Since this makes such a huge batch you could freeze the cookies for future baking. Or eat raw, I won’t judge you. Enjoy!

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Baking, Cookies, Dessert. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

