CycleBar, West Fargo

I’m back with another new to me class I attended recently – CycleBar in West Fargo. CycleBar is a chain that dubs itself “premium indoor cycling”. I was really excited to try out this particular class because I knew the instructor – he is the brother of one of my good friends. His name is Jake and he taught an awesome, upbeat class. I went on Sunday, April 2 after celebrating hard the night before with my sister for her birthday. <<< Not really recommended, but really fun!

CycleBar West Fargo is a newer location and it is located off of Veterans Boulevard on Bluestem Drive close to Flatland Brewery, Pub West, Blvd Pub and Spicy Pie.

Here is what you can expect – a nice, clean, modern facility with all the amenities. This is a regular spin class but it is elevated to another level with stadium seating, lighting and an awesome sound system for music. The class is totally accessible and riders of any fitness level would fit in. A unique feature of CycleBar is the video graphics that shows at the front of the room highlighting rider-specific performance data.

cyclebar

To register for class, you sign up online. The first ride is free and they have packages you can buy. A single ride after your free pass is $18 so a bit steep in my opinion but these boutique like gyms seem to have the going rate of about $15-$20 for a drop in. When you arrive you are warmly greeting and you sign in on a tablet and get a pair of cycling shoes. You are then ushered back to the locker area where you can leave valuables and grab a bottle for water where you can choose room temperature or cold water. I really appreciated that little touch as a room temperature water lover.

Even though I do teach cycling class, this was the first time for me using cycling shoes. Jake showed me how to clip in and they really do make a difference. I don’t think I’ll be purchasing my own pair but they were awesome to try. Your instructor is also available to help you adjust your bike if needed. Attendants wash and disinfect the shoes after your ride so no worries on germs. You then go to your assigned bike where it is custom to the stats you put in. You can follow along on the screen to see your numbers – this was a bit of a blur to me on my first class – I think it shows your name, your bike number, your watts, etc. and it ranks you along with the rest of the class on where you are at. Pretty great if you are competitive. It will probably make you push a little harder!

20170402_084930

I loved the class was in the dark, the lights went up and down, the bikes were SUPER fancy/nice and the music kept us moving. Spin class is one of my true loves so I really enjoyed the experience. I went with my friend Alayna and the hour class FLEW by! Such a great way to work up a sweat and get in some killer cardio. You will want to wear form fitting longer shorts, capris or pants. I suggest using the provided water bottle and again, hydrate after class as well.

20170402_095358

After looking over the CycleBar website, they seem to have a variety of classes and even themed rides. They are available for private parties and charity events as well. I appreciated the large locker room and private shower with toiletries available I could use before my 4 hour drive home. Since I sat in the car for most of the day, I was glad to knock the ride out before my drive. I will definitely go again if it fits my schedule.

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Exercise, Fargo, Feisty Eats, FeistyLife, Healthy Living, Informational, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

