[solidcore], Bismarck

A few weeks ago, I was in Bismarck for a show and was spending the night with friends. On Saturday, we signed up to attend the new [solidcore] fitness studio on Saturday, March 25. I thought I’d share a bit about the class, what I thought of it and details on what it exactly is.

solidcore

I first heard of solidcore a few years ago. I attended a Women’s Health Conference and the keynote was Anne Mahlum, a Bismarck native and accomplished woman who founded Back on My Feet and was just starting out her solidcore gyms on the east coast. I had thought at that time I would love to take a class from her or at one of her gyms. Well, a few years later, she finally opened a studio in Bismarck and is opening other locations at a rapid pace as well. The Bismarck space is north in the Pinehurst Square shops by TJ Maax, Old Navy and Kohls; in the same strip as 5 Guys. A Fargo location is slated to open soon.

You can go to the website to sign up and see prices. The first class is now $15 or you can buy packages. You also sign up for class online and you can see if you get a spot or get on a waitlist. Classes are limited to 12 people which is nice as you get attention from the instructor quite easily. Classes fill up fast and far in advance so be prepared for that – you likely won’t be able to just sign up for a class that day.

20170325_094935

The workout is unique and unlike any class I have attended. The room is dark, has loud music and it was quite warm in there. The instructor goes over the solidcore machine (affectionately dubbed Sweatlana) prior to class and walks throughout the class instructing you as you go. The class lasts 50 minutes but be sure to arrive early to get checked in. You go in barefoot and just with a towel or two and a water bottle. The class is intense but very low-impact. The moves are done slow and controlled with the idea being you lengthen and tone your body. The machine you use is unlike anything else you’ve seen and it uses resistance in every move. Expect a lot of planks, lunges, squats and pushups. Your machine is adjustable to add or remove resistance. The class was challenging but you really go at your own pace and break when you need to. Moves can be modified with cues given by your coach. Our instructor (Steph) was great, super encouraging and light touches to correct your form.

20170325_105606

They do not have a shower but they do have baskets where you can store personal items and a large bathroom to freshen up in with wipes, deodorant, mouth wash, etc.

My recommendation would be to come in with an open mind and be prepared to work. Wear comfy clothes that you can easily move in and don’t gape or droop. Water is encouraged and certainly afterwards you will want to rehydrate well. I was a bit sore the next day but in areas that I typically am not sore – a sure indication of a good workout. My upper abs were feeling it. I think this would be a great addition to all the cardio I currently do. Of course, I am limited since I live so far away but I would encourage you to try a class at least once. It’s always fun to explore. Maybe it’ll be your new fitness go to!

 

 

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Exercise, Feisty Eats, FeistyLife, Healthy Living, Informational, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

