Circuit / Tabata workout

I’ve mentioned here that I have been incorporating more circuit type workouts into my fitness routine. I like variety, plyometrics, tabatas and anything that can get my heart rate up with using body weight or basic gym equipment. Here is a pretty basic set up I have done. I wanted to share with you in case you are looking for a new routine to use.

Try this circuit / tabata mix and see how far you can make it in 45 minutes or go all the way through and record how long it takes you. Keep notes to compare your time here and there. Modify as needed. This workout does not require ANY gym equipment and can easily be done at home.

Circuit.jpg

Warm up run 800 meters (if you don’t have space to run, do high knees and/or butt kickers for 5 minutes)

Circuit (do each move for 45 seconds and rest for 15)

  • Inch worm push ups
  • In and out plyo squats
  • Shoulder tap planks
  • Pogo jumps (right)
  • Pogo jumps (left)
  • Boat pose in-n-out abs
  • High knees or tuck jumps

Tabata #1 – 20 seconds on, 10 seconds rest (x4)

  • Wide arm push-ups
  • Tricep dip

Now run 800 meters again, do the circuit, move on to Tabata #2

Tabata #2 – 20 seconds on, 10 seconds rest (x8)

  • Burpees

Now run 800 meters again, do the circuit, move on to Tabata #3

Tabata #3 – 20 seconds on, 10 seconds rest (x4)

  • Right plank + hip dip
  • Left plank + hip dip

Cool down with an easy 800 meter jog

img_20170120_094232_681

I just print or write these out on some paper and take with me to the gym. If you want other workouts, type in “gym wod” into Google and you’ll get some great ideas.

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Exercise, Feisty Eats, FeistyLife, Healthy Living. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

