Quinoa Protein Bites

Another month, another energy bite recipe. I am obsessed. These are just perfect to have on hand to grab and go. I have been looking for a quinoa cookie / no-bake treat to make for a while to use up my stash of bulk quinoa. I came across this recipe from Boys Ahoy and knew it was perfect. I swear I don’t stalk her, but I love nearly all her recipes and follow her on IG for some great workouts.

QuinoaBites

I made the recipe almost exactly as she posted but doubled the recipe, used my own brand of protein powder, regular Jif peanut butter and as always, added in a dash of salt. I am a salty sweat-er and a salt lover as well so salt is my jam so to speak. The hardest part of these is letting the quinoa cool.

These are like healthy cookies? I keep mine in the freezer and grab one or three after a workout. They are perfect.

Quinoa Protein Bites, makes anywhere from 30-40, depending on size, adapted slightly from Boys Ahoy

  • 1 1/2 cups cooked and cooled quinoa (cook in plain water)
  • 1 cup rolled oats
  • 2 scoops chocolate protein powder (other flavors should work, but I loved this combo)
  • 1/2 cup peanut butter
  • 1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 5 Tbsp honey
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/3 cup unsweetened coconut flakes, chopped

Directions

Put everything except coconut in a medium, microwave safe bowl. Nuke for about 30 seconds to soften up the peanut butter/honey. Stir until combined. Spoon about 1 inch roughly ball shaped bites onto wax or parchment paper. Then, roll into ball shapes into the coconut to coat. Store in fridge or freezer in air-tight container or zip top bag.

Here you can see the before and after. I simply spooned out the cookies in a rough shape and then rolled them in coconut and made them more into a ball shape. You could skip the coconut or roll it in something else. I love the coconut flavor though. Enjoy!

 

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Appetizer, Breakfast, Cookies, Healthy Living. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

