Healthy Blueberry Muffins

Sometimes I go a little overboard when I shop at Sam’s Club and get a bit too much produce that can be eaten before it goes bad. Blueberries are easy to freeze but they are really easy to throw into this recipe too. These are healthier blueberry muffins with not much sugar, flax meal, oats and other goodies. No mixer required and they make an even 12. I get so annoyed when recipes make an odd amount of muffins or cupcakes!

bluemuffins

I love when the berries burst when you bake them. They look pretty too!

beforeaftermuffins

Healthy Blueberry Muffins, makes 12, slightly adapted from Good Housekeeping

Ingredients

  • 1 1/4 c. oats
  • 1 1/4 c. whole wheat flour
  • 1/2 c. flax meal
  • 1/2 c. lightly packed brown sugar
  • 2 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp. baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 c. low-fat milk (I used almond milk)
  • 2 tbsp. vinegar
  • 3 tbsp. canola oil
  • 1 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 2 c. (heaping) blueberries

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 400°F. Spray 12-cup muffin pan with nonstick cooking spray or use cupcake liners.
  2. In a large bowl, combine oats, flour, flax, brown sugar, baking powder and soda, and salt. In small bowl, with fork, whisk together egg, buttermilk, oil, and vanilla; stir into flour mixture until flour is moistened. Gently fold in berries.
  3. Spoon batter into muffin-pan cups. Bake 20 to 25 minutes or until toothpick inserted in center of muffins comes out clean. Store in zip top bag in fridge. I preferred these cold. They also store well in the freezer.

blueberrymuffins

My Mom is going to try these with frozen raspberries. I bet that would be delicious as well. I enjoyed these with a smear of peanut butter and we preferred them after they had cooled completely in the fridge. They are lower in calories than traditional muffins and are great around a workout, as breakfast or even as dessert. Enjoy!

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Baking, Breakfast, Healthy Living. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Healthy Blueberry Muffins

  1. Kate Sutter says:

    I was lucky enough to receive some of these. Very good.

Leave a Reply

