How to make cold brew iced coffee at home

I am very new to drinking coffee. I don’t know what flipped the switch for me? But I love a coffee as a morning snack or a treat after a long exercise session. I add sugar and cream to my coffee so my husband teases me about not being a true coffee drinker. BUT, I did read a statistic that only 1/3 of people take their coffee black so I guess HE is in the minority? I love looking at food photos online and I see a LOT of people post about iced coffee and protein iced coffee. I was intrigued. My sweet sister just took a trip to Guatemala and while there she toured a coffee plantation. She was nice enough to send me a couple bags of coffee from there!!

coldbrew

Since I like my coffee with sugar and cream, I’ll tell you how I made it to my preference. If you like super strong, cold coffee just skip the milk and sugar or lower it. Totally customizable.

img_5571

The night before you want iced coffee you will want to take at 2-cup or so container to put your coffee in. It should have a lid or be able to be covered in the fridge overnight.

Cold brewed iced coffee – serves one

  • 1/3 cup coffee, grinded
  • 1 1/3 cup water, cold or room temp
  • coffee filter
  • Ice
  • Sugar or cream to taste OR flavored protein milk

Put your coffee and water in container and stir to combine. Let this steep overnight in the fridge, or for at least 5-6 hours if crunched on time. The next morning, strain the coffee grinds from the water. Add lots of ice and your flavorings of choice. Crush that coffee down and have the best day ever.

img_5572

My favorite way to flavor coffee is with some of this Muscle Milk. I usually add the coffee prescribed above and about 3/4 of this 11 oz. container. It is perfectly sweet and creamy. So, so good. I highly recommend this way for coffee newbies such as myself. Enjoy!

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Breakfast, Feisty Eats, How To, Informational. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

