Cycle – Drill List

I know I have been posting a lot of workout stuff lately but that is kind of how my life is right now. I actually rarely bake at all anymore (except for “healthy” type stuff) and of course I cook but again, it is mostly healthy. I’ll share a few of those recipes but as time marches on, we all change.

cycle

As a spin instructor, I am not certified or hold any special designations. I have attended cycling classes for probably about 10 years, have a passion for it and was willing to teach. I was glad to be given the opportunity to instruct class at our local gym and I absolutely love it. That said, I had a hard time coming up with challenging yet fun workouts. Even my usual method of GOOGLING didn’t result in a lot of ideal results. So, today I am sharing a one-hour session that I call Drill List that we do every few weeks in class.

img_20161220_080925

SPIN (don’t be alarmed, we do in fact, cycle in the garage of the gym where the laundry is done and materials are stored – it’s really no big deal – it gets the job done and the sweat soaks into the cement nicely)

DRILL LIST – this is a high intensity hour long class

Loosen/Warm Up  – (3:30) High Valley, Make You Mine
stand 1:30-2:30
Full Throttle (6:42 minutes) 6 sprints, level 4 out of 10
ATB Never Give Up

30 sprint seated, 30 off standing

Head for the Hills (14 minutes)
24k Magic 3:47, Side to Side 3:46 |
Parachute 4:13, After Party 3:39

Level 5 1 minute – seated
Level 7 2 minutes – seated one, stand run one
Level 8 1 minute (stand)
Level 8 1 minute (hover)
Level 9 1 minute (stand & climb)

Take a drink – off for (1 minute) and
repeat once more

Tabata Torchers (10 minutes – break between first two songs if needed)
It Ain’t My Fault 3:35,
Night of Your Life D. Guetta 3:32,
Beautiful Drug 3:12

Stand and work for 20, sit recover for 10
Various resistances – start at a 5 and work your way up and then down

Take a drink – off for (1 minute)

Tabata Torcher (10 minutes – break between songs if needed)
All of Me 4:12, We Found Love 5:46
Sit and work for 20, stand recover for 10
Various resistances – start at a 5 and work your way up and then down

Take a drink – off for (1 minute)

Full Throttle (5:35) My House Remix
Sprint 20 standing, sit 10 sprint and recover for 30 seconds

Slowdown (3:49 minutes), I’m Yours
Gradually slow legs and bring down resistance

Stretch (5:06 minutes), Home, Dierks Bentley
Stretch on and off bike, dynamic stretches off of bike

20161231_103829

I think this is a great workout and I like the songs so keep it high energy and going for a full hour. I like to switch up my classes with some of them going with the song and some of them the drills depend on time. I find it difficult at times to keep things “fresh” so any changes or suggestions are welcome. I hope you like this workout!

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Exercise, Feisty Eats, Healthy Living. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Cycle – Drill List

  1. Tracie B. says:

    You should put together a Spotify playlist for this. At least I’m pretty sure people can put together their own playlists to share there…

    • Feisty Eats says:

      I think they can. I actually don’t use Spotify, Tidal, Amazon Music, Pandora or even Netflix, Roku, DVR, Echo, Alexa or any of those other technology type things. For spin, I make a playlist and burn it on a CD. I realize that makes me old fashioned but I just don’t have the time (or really, the willingness to commit is probably more accurate). 🙂

Leave a Reply

