February check in, 2017

I’m here to check in on with my two month update on trying to get more in shape and drop a few lbs. February was quite the month for our household. I started off in sunny Arizona, went to stay overnight with a good friend, my husband had a knee replacement surgery (!) and we went to a chili cook-off at our local bar. Busy month to say the least.

febcheckincover

Arizona was a blast and overall, I ate pretty healthy. I had one VERY BAD day in February with eating way too much (binge) and feeling very down on myself. I hate those days!! That said, one day out of the month is a big improvement from where I was at the end of 2016. In regards to that day, I just have to pick up the next day and move on and get back on track which I did. In regards to the chili cook-off, we won’t talk too much about it other than my husband took third and I took nothing. Dang it! We love chili cook-offs. They are kind of our thing and I am honestly glad he took third place.

The knee replacement surgery has been a long time coming. My husband is relatively young for this surgery, but he was just born with a bad knee. We both are hoping for a strong, healthy recovery with a lot more active years on the new knee. I do want to thank all of our amazing friends and family for helping us through those first few weeks. I don’t know what we did to deserve such good people in our lives, but we are very grateful.

smallchanges

Now, onto me. Haha. I guess this is my blog so I can be all about me. I had that one very awful day, but the rest were pretty good overall. I am trying to be more kind to myself and give myself a little slack here and there. Sometimes when you get to the gym for a workout, you just don’t feel it. That is OK. I give myself permission to try it for a half hour or so and if it isn’t what I want that day, I go home. No biggie. That does not make me a failure.

With my husband laid up (he will be home for 6 weeks but is already rehabbing and walking around – the body is truly amazing) and on medication, his appetite is off. I took time to prep meals for myself so I have healthy options that are ready right now in case he needs me. Every time I meal prep, I remember how an hour or two on one day is SO worth it during the busy work week. This is meals for 5 days! I find if I have roasted veggies on hand, I’ll snack on them instead of chips or crackers. I like them right out of the fridge dipped in hummus or ketchup.

These small changes over time do add up for me. The photo on the top right is a few new bottles I purchased. Two 64 oz. glass bottles and a BPA free water bottle for working out. I was in the bad habit of reusing plastic bottles and we know that isn’t good for us. I’m hoping to keep making these little swaps throughout the year with various things.

fitness

This month the weather has been pretty mild and I got in a few outdoor runs. I still have only been able to go out on the weekend due to sunlight hours and frosty conditions. I’m doing a few runs, spinning and a few strength sessions each week. A mix of things works for me to keep boredom at bay. I’ve really focused on my strength sessions and stretching this month.

One happy thing about my running lately is it was like a switch was flipped. Suddenly I got faster and stronger it feels like overnight. I know that isn’t the case. I put in time with my runs, cross training and lots of stretching. But one day I could just run faster. My mind didn’t think it was possible, but my body did it, I survived and to make sure, I did it again a few times. That is a great feeling. There are many times when I struggle through a workout or feel like it was SO tough so these moments are rare and super appreciated.

progress

I’m trying to eat healthy and treat myself on occasion. My drinking has cut back again, especially since my husband can’t drink while he recovers. I drink once a week I’d say? I probably should just quit while he is recovering from surgery, but I honestly just love to have some drinks. I’m not really willing to give up my beer or vodka drinks. The scale is down again this month, things are fitting better and better and I couldn’t be happier. I feel lighter and happier, my mood overall is better I think. It’s so, so hard to get started, but worth it. Sometimes I overindulge (usually on the weekend) and I pay for it a few days afterwards. I need to remember how great I feel when I treat my body correctly.

The photo above left is from early January to last week on the right. Sure, different lighting, different stance, different top but taking selfies helps me gauge progress along with how my jeans fit. I can see some difference in my mid-section and arms. Of course, probably my bra size too – the struggle is real with that one. Whoomp whoomp!

It takes a lot of effort and motivation to change daily habits but it pays off and a person wonders what took me so long to change? I have March and April to hopefully get to my fittest. Then, we will be gearing up for summer and hopefully a lot of adventures so we will see what happens…I’ll check in again at the end of March one way or another! I am hoping March brings a little more sleep my way, that is an area I can definitely improve upon.

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Exercise, Feisty Eats, FeistyLife, Healthy Living. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

