Sweet Potato, Bean and Kale Skillet

I’m sharing today a one dish skillet that has quickly become my favorite lunch for a few reasons. 1) It is made in one skillet, 2) it is very affordable and 3) it is very nutritious, packed full of good for you foods. I think I’ve touched on this before that I am cheap, so the affordability is what initially drew me into this meal. But, I particularly like that it leaves me full, satisfied, not stuffed and makes me feel good with all that kale in there. This is a great dish to have in the winter when we don’t have easy access to fresh veggies in North Dakota.

I had a request to share a little more about my meal prep and what I do for that. That changes from month to month but right now I have this in heavy rotation. It makes 4 generous portions and I serve it with some steamed veggies. I’ll work on a meal prep post to hopefully put up soon. I have been pretty busy in my personal life so I haven’t had time to devote to the blog or cooking lately.

sweetpotatoskillet

I use my spiralizer to make this dish because it really adds volume and you can cook the sweet potato noodles so much more quickly than if you dice and chop them. However, if you don’t have a spiralizer, that method will work – just adjust your cooking time for the potato. Don’t like sweet potatoes? White potatoes would work fine here also.

kale

Sweet potato, bean and kale skillet
Ingredients, serves 4

  • 2 tsp. coconut oil
  • 1 large sweet potato, spiralized
  • salt, pepper and red pepper flakes to taste
  • 1 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 4-5 cups chopped kale
  • 14.5oz can white beans
  • 14.5oz can diced tomatoes, drained (I like to use the ones already seasoned with oregano and basil or something like that)
  • ½ teaspoon herbs d provence
  • 1/2 teaspoon oregano
  • 3/4 cup crumbled feta cheese, or cheese of your choice (optional)

Instructions

  1. Heat the oil in a large skillet over medium-high heat. Add oil and once that is warm add the sweet potato noodles and season with salt, pepper, red pepper flakes and garlic powder. Cook until mostly wilted, about 5-7 minutes. Add the kale, white beans, tomatoes and herbs and put a lid on the skillet. Toss until kale is slightly wilted and bright green in color, usually another 4-5 minutes.
  2. Remove the skillet from heat and sprinkle with the cheese. Serve or portion into containers for lunches.

kale2

Look at that huge bowl of goodness. Sometimes I add in some fresh green onion. I hadn’t added the feta yet, but I like that, mozzarella or Colby jack. I have made this many, many times. Vegan? Just skip the cheese or use nutritional yeast. Enjoy!

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Dinner, Dinner idea, Healthy Living, Main Dish, Veggie. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sweet Potato, Bean and Kale Skillet

  1. Pingback: Meal Prep Tips | Feisty Eats

Leave a Reply

