January check in, 2017

At the end of December I suggested two fitness changes to make in 2017 – sharing for anyone who reads, but mostly as a reminder to myself. 1) find your fitness passion and 2) make small changes to the way you eat. I confessed I had gained a few pounds and wanted to make some changes to move that needle down. I also want to build muscle to be in super great shape this summer. Here’s my one month update!

jancheckin

Fitness passion – not too much of a problem. I am really focusing on spinning, running and circuits/body weight/plyo workouts. I have tried things in the past that others do and I just didn’t find passion with them. You won’t find me lifting heavy weights or cross country skiing on the daily. These are both great and fine and maybe will be my passions one day. In fact, last year I lifted weights for a few consecutive months. But for now, this is the stuff I like and makes me get out of bed, ready to workout. Cycle, run, circuit/body weight/plyo workouts. That is all I’m really doing right now because I LIKE them and WANT to do them.

img_20161206_115047

Change the way you eat – man, if that was only as easy done as said. I generally don’t have too much of a problem getting to the gym. I love working out and the feeling after crushing a workout. The food. That is my weakness. I just love to eat and eat a lot. The first week of January was pretty much a bust. I thought I was making changes but I fell quickly into my old habits. I am happy to say I regrouped, planned out breakfast, lunch, dinner and snacks. I eat the same food A LOT and I am perfectly fine with that. It is easy for me and I know roughly my calorie and macro intake. For now, that is what I am doing. I love the food I eat and it is high in nutrition and is mostly real food. I still snack here and there and have a few relaxed meals. I cut back on my beer intake and am drinking only one day a week where possible. (Where possible because as this is posted I am on vacation! I’ll definitely do my best to eat healthy as there is fresh produce here, but I’ll probably have a few drinks during the week which isn’t typical.)

quinoa06

As the result of these small changes I find that I feel MUCH better! Happier, less bloated, “lighter” feeling, sleeping better, clearer skin and the scale is down a bit. If I can keep this up through the winter and early spring I’ll be ready to enter the nicer weather more confidently.

All that said, I have been thinking a lot about how I treat myself and things I think to or even say out loud to myself. I know I’m bigger than I was a few years ago and the scale is higher than it was a few years ago. It’s interesting (and sad), how poorly we can treat ourselves. Especially when we are in bad places. If I had a friend in my situation, I would not agree with her that she was “fat” and “dumb”. I would tell her the scale isn’t everything. She needs to feel good in her clothes and in herself. But for some reason, as women, we are tied to that scale and the size of our pants. At least I am. And I haven’t even actually moved UP a pants size, things just fit differently or some a BIT TOO tight! And I don’t know how to change that mindset. Ever since I started my healthiness journey, I have had a number in my mind I was to see on the scale. I have not been able to reach that number and I really, really want to! Just to prove it to myself. But who really cares? It won’t solve anything.

health-quotes-13

Man, it is tough being a woman, am I right? We’re told so many things by media – where to spend our money – fitness, food (don’t even get me started on which way to eat), clothes, retirement, travel, makeup, massages, spa treatments, hair processes, on and on. I am just trying to figure out what makes me happy as I age. And it is tough!

I plan to check in again at the end of February to let you know how I am doing (good or bad) and compare to the end of January. Have a healthy month! Here’s to nutritious food, good moods and strong workouts.

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Feisty Eats, FeistyLife, Healthy Living. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to January check in, 2017

  1. Tracey Krusi says:

    Thank you Sarah! I always love your posts and info. You mentioned that you planned your meals… would you share your meal plan in a blog post? I suck at it and need motivation/ideas/etc. Thanks and enjoy your vacation!

Leave a Reply

