Treadmill Boredom Busters

I’m being totally honest in that I really don’t know what I am doing with my running. I like to run, I enjoy the way it makes me feel and of course, the health benefits. Right now I am not “training” for an event or any specific purpose other than to build my endurance. To do this I focus on running, cycling, circuit workouts and stretching. On one hand, that makes it a bit tough as I don’t have a goal I am reaching towards running wise. So, I took this as an opportunity to mix up my workouts, keep things fresh and try some boredom busters on the treadmill. For those of you that also don’t have a clue – give these workouts a try!

treadmillboredom

Excuse my photos, I don’t have a personal photographer to get me swiftly gliding on the treadmill, breathing easy, hair falling gently around me. Nope, it’s me, no time and my cell phone. My shirt DOES say RUN but it’s backwards in the photo. Dang photographer is NOT good.

Personally, I am OK with running on the treadmill when the alternative is 50+ inches of snow, ice covered roads and close to -40 windchills. Yep, treadmill is totally fine!! And even in our small town, when the winter temps get nice (20 or 30+ above) we won’t have roads free of ice other than the main highway. The treadmill is tricky because it SUCKS from going outside to inside. It’s boring and monotonous. BUT, it is a great training tool for consistency and mental strength. By the time spring rolls around, I find it difficult to go outside again. Wicked cycle.

Typically the three runs I do most often:

Long Runs

On these I just focus on going the distance and keeping up my endurance. My pace is usually slower than my shorter runs and I just do what feels good. The goal is to finish and be happy, not kill myself. If I have to walk or take a quick water break, I do. I usually zone out on what is on TV and run. Below – one of my longer treadmill runs – 13.1 and then a couple miles walking. Whew!!

img_20170102_102533_644

Quick Runs

I do a mile warm up and then try to do intervals – a half mile at another 0.5 added onto the speed, then back to the warm up pace. Next, maybe bump it up 0.5 for three quarters and back to warm up pace for a quarter mile. I usually try to run 4-5 miles doing various intervals depending on how I feel.

Hill Runs

For these I usually do a two mile warm up because I am psyching myself up to run these dumb hills. Haha. I start at an incline of 5.0 and a slower pace for a .20 miles. I back it down to 0 incline and walk for 0.05 miles and run a normal pace for 0.15 miles and repeat. I usually do these for about 3-4 miles and each mile I decrease the incline some while increasing the pace on the inclines some. I don’t particularly enjoy these hills but I know it’s good for variety and it actually goes by pretty quick because I am looking at the mileage quite often.

I always end my workouts with a mile or so cool down walk. I love to walk and catch up on my phone. It’s a great way to bring my heart rate down. Then I stretch and drink lots of water. Me after a run and stretch. Working on that selfie game but a bit foggy from my sweaty steam!

img_20170116_072620_385

Right now I am teaching a cycling class two days a week so I cycle/do circuits for two days, run three days and commit one day to just circuits/body weight/plyo, etc. I’ll try to share in the coming weeks a few of those workouts. I enjoy reading what others do for fitness routines so I hope you enjoy a few of my boredom busters for winter.

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Exercise, Feisty Eats, FeistyLife, Healthy Living, Informational. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

