Workout Wear of the Moment

Fitness wear has certainly evolved over the past 20-30 years, hasn’t it? Long gone are the simple t-shirts and shorts we always wore to basketball practice. In addition to those, there is spandex, polyester, Lycra, wicking, technical and performance fabrics and more. Chief among your decision on picking what to wear should be comfort, not what is the “cutest”, most expensive or what others are wearing. I certainly got along fine in my t-shirt and shorts in high school but prefer things a bit differently now.

I’ve gone through a variety of workout clothes. I used to only wear shorts and tanks with built in bras. I still like both of those options but it really depends on what activity I am going to do. If I am biking, shorty shorts are out (hello, chub rub), while running I prefer compression capris and I have finally realized that though my boobs aren’t exactly large, they deserve more support than just a built in bra.

01fitness

What you wear is up to you – there are options galore in styles, colors, fabrics and price points. I wanted to share a few of my faves and why I like them. I should point out that I am seriously cheap. I like to spend money on food, drink and travel but clothes don’t really do it for me. Almost everything I buy is on sale. You won’t find me wearing Under Armor, Nike, Lululemon or other big brand names for the most part (though those are all great brands). I’ve found Old Navy, Kohl’s and JCPenney offerings to be just as suitable for me, personally. I’m sure those brands last a long time but I exercise and sweat a lot. I still have some of these brands I wear that are several years old.

Compression capri, bike shorts and pants

I personally prefer to wear longer shorts or capris when I bike to protect my thighs from the bike seat. I prefer to run in capris or long pants. To be honest, I’ve lost quite a bit of weight and there is a lot of skin out there that jiggles and moves. I like to be sucked in and all in one place. If you feel good, if you feel like you look good, your workout motivation is already half way there.

02fitness

Bonus points to me if they are high rise and/or have an inner pocket for keys or a small snacks. These are Old Navy brand and I recently got these on sale – love them.

Sports bras

Since I am not real gifted in this area, I don’t really require much. Old Navy has great sales on theirs. My favorite though, is a more fitted bra I got at Victoria’s Secret. I have only bought two things there (both workout) and really like them. For running, the more fitted cups and band offer nice support and I love a crossed back. I would say the biggest change recently in workout wear is buying more fitted, more supportive bras. It really makes a world of difference in bounce, chaffing and control – even if you don’t have a large cup size. I seem to kind of be in between sizes so trying on before buying is nice.

This is Victoria’s Secret and you can buy by band and cup size.

Tanks

For whatever reason, I prefer tanks to t-shirts when working out. Lately I have preferred looser fitting tanks that are dry wicking. I do have a few cotton tanks and they are OK also. My favorite tanks lately have come from JC Penney’s. They have great sales and often offer a $10 off coupon regularly.

05fitness

JCP brand Xersion and nothing tight on the bottom for me in this case.

Socks

I prefer thin moisture wicking socks. My favorite right now are these Fila socks from Kohl’s that have a nice lip in the back. I like short socks, but tend to get blisters from time to time on my heels so these are perfect.

06fitness

Kohl’s socks, I have 6 pairs.

Long sleeve t’s

You know in North Dakota you need clothes that are layerable. A few layers as a base can make a huge difference. I have some moisture wicking long sleeve t’s from races I have participated in but am on the lookout for some wind resistant tops currently.

To be determined

I had a goal to run exclusively outdoors from May to October and I made it. I love running outside and just being outside in general. I will not run in the dark when it is icy and slippery, but I will run outside in the cold if the conditions are favorable and in daylight. I will be looking for some more winter weather gear so I can continue running, hiking and biking outside through the winter if I can. I’ve heard the saying exercise is cheaper than therapy. Exercise is most definitely a stress reliever and calming routine for me….but the costs can add up so be sure to look for sales and remember you don’t always have to buy the big name brand item. Any brands I should check out, let me know. I do have a Scheels gift card burning a hole in my pocket! I realize I will probably have to dole out a little more $$ for wind resistant, moisture wicking, thermal, fleece, etc. other keywords for winter running but it is a smart investment and I can obviously use them in other applications for several months in North Dakota.

I wish you and your family and friends the happiest of happy days for Thanksgiving weekend.

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Exercise, Feisty Eats, FeistyLife, Healthy Living, Misc. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Workout Wear of the Moment

  1. If you have the right gear, you can run outside almost every day in the winter! Even here. Some days you can’t, but most are fair game, and once you’re used to running outdoors, you won’t want to take it inside. I also prefer tanks to tees!

Leave a Reply

