Roasted Beet and Kale Salad

Hi – I finally have a quick recipe post for you. I honestly haven’t been cooking or baking much of anything new lately. We have had a really busy summer running around doing this and that and I have loved it. As I mentioned on this site, we are members of a CSA and we have been living and loving veggies this summer. In fact, I have become a fan of some veggies I thought were “gross”, like kale AND beets. I have added Swiss chard, zucchini, carrots and tons of other veggies to our regular meals we eat and it is such a good way to add veggies in sneakily – you hardly notice.

I LOVE this salad. I found recipe on AllRecipes.com and altered it to fit what I had on hand. It is a perfect mix of earthy/healthy tasting, sweet, crunchy and just a bit of tang.

I encourage you to try veggies in different ways. Beets are quite good seasoned and roasted. I LOVE them pickled also. Kale is kind of stiff and hard straight out of the garden, but massaged with this vinaigrette and left overnight to soak up the flavors it is like a hearty type of lettuce.

kale

Roasted Beet and Kale Salad, serves about 6 as a side – adapted slightly from AllRecipes

Ingredients

  • 4-5 large beets
  • 1 bunch fresh kale, cut into bite-size pieces (about 6-8 cups, discard the tough, thick stems)
  • 3-4 green onions, chopped (red onion would also work here)
  • 1/2 cup toasted, chopped walnuts
  • 7-8 pitted dates, chopped
  • 1/2 cup apple juice or cider
  • 1/2 lemon, juiced
  • 1 tablespoon Dijon mustard
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 teaspoons apple cider vinegar
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • 1-2 tablespoons olive oil

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Line a baking sheet with aluminum foil.
  2. Trim roots and stems from beets. Place beets onto prepared baking sheet.
  3. Roast beets for 60 minutes or until tender. Let beets cool. Peel skins from beets and cut into 1-inch cubes or slices. Set aside and let cool in refrigerator.
  4. Whisk apple juice or cider, lemon juice, mustard, garlic and cider vinegar in a bowl. Add salt and pepper to taste. Slowly drizzle in 1-2 tablespoons of olive oil into apple mixture, whisking constantly, until dressing is combined. Pour dressing over kale and onions (I used about half of this recipe – save the rest for another salad) and gently massage into greens. Let it sit overnight in the fridge.
  5. Before serving, add beets, nuts, dates and any additional dressing if needed. Toss to incorporate. Refrigerate any leftovers and eat within 2-3 days.

I took this salad to a friend’s house. She made Marathon Lasagna from the Run Fast Eat Slow cookbook. It had ground turkey, sweet potatoes, ricotta, eggs, noodles, spinach and tons of cheese. It was super hearty and delicious. I recommend it to anyone. My other friend brought asparagus wrapped in egg roll wrappers (maybe?) with a spicy dipping sauce. So good. I could eat those three things on the daily! We were well fed and happy ladies that evening!

Just a few additional notes:

  • Use some or all of the dressing, that is up to you.
  • Any leftovers would be a great marinade or dressing on a salad.
  • I think this would be glorious served with feta or goat cheese, any crumbly cheese.
  • I waited to add the beets so they didn’t stain the salad a pink/red color.
  • Serve this to your friends who doubt they like beets or kale.
  • Enjoy!
About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Appetizer, Dinner, Dinner idea, Healthy Living, Salad, Sides, Uncategorized, Veggie. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

