Hazen Painting and Wine Night, 2016

For four different Wednesdays at the end of July and beginning of August, people were invited to sign up for a Painting and Wine night. For a $45 fee, you were provided all the art supplies, wine and small snacks as well as an instructor to guide you in creating artwork. Each Wednesday featured a different painting. The only date that worked for me to attend was the last evening offered, Wednesday, Aug. 10. My friend and I signed up a few weeks in advance at the Union State Bank to secure a spot. I understand a few of the evenings were sold out!

Easels

The event started at 5:30 and when we showed up to the Brooks House on Central Ave, tucked in behind the Pocket Park and across from Union State Bank. The Brooks House is an art gallery of sorts that sells handmade items including pottery, fused glass, clothing items and more. They have some really nice, affordable pieces. What I didn’t know, is they have a lovely backyard, nice and secluded and quiet where the art class would take place. Easels, paintbrushes and water buckets were set out in the yard and we could take a glass of wine, snacks and a seat.

Snapchat-2297033070044531363

I never did catch our instructors name but she was very nice, helpful and gave us tips as the evening went on. We filled up our palette (OK, it was a Styrofoam plate) with paint as instructed and got going. Throughout the evening, we could refill our wine, visit and we were also lucky to listen to live music that was taking place in the Pocket Park while we painted.

Snapchat-3298958837902926232

It may seem like I am forever championing any event I go to and I guess I am? We feel very lucky that Hazen offers so many events for young people in our town. Many towns don’t have these options and I am more than happy to sign up for and attend these events. It seems to me that so many people stay home or go to Bismarck for events. It’s sad – we live in our town for a reason, so let’s support them. Whether it is a family event, a weekend band or what not, I try to go to as many events as I can – whether to volunteer or just check things out.

Snapchat-7029099537681237186

The completion of the painting probably took only about 2 hours if that? We grabbed our painting and headed off on our merry way before a storm blew in that night – we were lucky. A palette or two might have flown off in the wind, but for the most part, our masterpieces were saved from any errant winds.

20160810_192831

Thank you to Hazen Arts Council, the Brooks House and Union State Bank for getting this fun event lined up. I’m no Picasso, but I’d definitely try this again!

20160810_192744

I won’t show you the original or the instructor’s finished art but this is mine. Good enough. I have even hung it in my house where other people will see it. Fun times in Hazen.

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Entertainment, Feisty Eats, FeistyLife, Misc, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Hazen Painting and Wine Night, 2016

  1. Mom says:

    You are very lucky that your town offers these things. So many do not or can’t. You are mote creative then your give yourself credit. I am so glad you try to be involved in so many things.

Leave a Reply

