Why wake up early

I have not always been a morning person. In fact, I don’t know that I am currently a morning person? Maybe I am just getting older? Yeah, that is most likely the answer.

Now that “kids” are back to school, Labor Day is over so I guess the summer is unofficially over. My morning workouts are now done completely in the dark. Soon, most all of my workouts will be done in the gym (though I am hoping for a long autumn!)

As a tribute to my love of summer, here are a few things I love about early morning outdoor workouts that I will miss.

20160809_065207

You get to wake up with the world. For the most part in summer, my workouts started in the dark (I usually run or bike) but they ended as the sun was coming up. I love going through the neighborhoods and seeing people (this sounds creepy but some people leave their windows open with lights and no curtains) reading the paper or making morning coffee. I must have a strong sense of smell because I can smell coffee brewing, syrup, toast, eggs, people having a morning smoke, dill growing in the garden and I swear one day I smelled a Pizza Corner pizza cooking. Hey, no judgment. Sounds delicious. It is just so satisfying getting your workout done as the town gets ready for the day.

Get it in before you know what is going on. My alarm goes off, I roll out of bed, go to the bathroom, brush my teeth, pull my hair back and get into my workout clothes. I think when I start my workout I am barely awake but by the end the sun is up, the birds are out and everything is good with the world. I have an endorphin high and want to smile at the sun as it comes up.

20160812_061251

Weather. This is a huge bonus, the mornings are usually cool with little wind. I’ve had some windy and quite a few rainy days of course, buy generally this will be the best part of the day to get your fitness in outdoors. Humidity is much more tolerable in the early morning verse the heat of the day.

After work freedom. By scheduling my workout in the morning I really don’t have an excuse to skip. AND my time after work is free. Things tend to come up (happy hour, meetings, etc.) between the morning and quitting time. Too many excuses can be brought up during the day to skip an afternoon workout.

Habit. I have been working out for so long now as a part of my schedule that I will honestly miss it if I don’t get it in. I have slept in or skipped mornings but then I just go in the afternoon because I really feel it is a part of my day. I prefer to start my summer days out with a sweaty workout.

The view. North Dakota has some glorious sunrises and sunsets. I have been witness to so many beautiful sunrises throughout this summer, it really makes you appreciate your life and starts your day out calmly and peacefully.

20160816_061828

Grocery store/cleaning/cooking. What? Ok, yes I meant to type that. After exercise, I feel good about myself and energized. Sometimes after showering and getting ready, I’ll go grab groceries at the market (they open at 6:30 a.m. during the week and it is the BEST time to shop – no crowds) or do some dinner prep and or clean. You can get A LOT done in just a half hour.

Being outside. As any North Dakotan knows, summer is just way too short. I try to take advantage to be outside as much as I can in the nicer weather months. I know it’ll be back to indoor workouts and stuck inside in just a few months, maybe even weeks. Even as the weather is growing colder, I’ll stick it out for a while yet.

20160809_065226

Like everything, there are a few downsides. I generally go to bed before the sun sets. I am OK with that and don’t have too much trouble sleeping generally, but I know some people can’t do that. This also means I usually go to bed before my friends/partner. But, do what works for you. If you prefer exercising outdoors in the heat or another time of day works better for you, GO FOR IT!

In a few months I will be back to going to and returning from work in the dark. I’m definitely not ready so I’ll be soaking up the outdoors as long as I can. Have a great week!

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Exercise, Feisty Eats, FeistyLife, Misc, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Why wake up early

  1. Smart, Jen says:

    Great post!!! I wish I had read this in June instead of Sept. haa,haa Love reading your thoughts. P.s. Now I want pizza corner pizza….

  2. I am already a morning person, but you’ve inspired me to get more stuff done so I can have more afternoon time when I get home from work.

  3. Kate Sutter says:

    Morning so peaceful…..

  4. Bettie Kensmoe says:

    It is fun keeping up with you two. You both look great! No grass growing under you.
    Looks like the move has been a good move. Tell Mark hello

Leave a Reply

