Bison Bar & Grill, Hazen

The Bison Bar & Grill formally opened on Wednesday, August 17, 2016 at 11 a.m. The bar and grill is located where the former Woodshed used to be, next to Cenex and Cinema Flix.

SocialHour

The above photo is in the bar area. They have added several flat screen TV’s throughout the restaurant. The sections of the restaurant are the bar, dining area and what I’ll call the conference room. We were happy to be invited to the soft opening on Tuesday. There was a good group of people and we were greeted at the door, into the bar area. There was a fountain of whiskey sour we could help ourselves to – that was lovely along with an open bar.

OpenBar

We grabbed a few drinks and sat in the bar for a bit to chat with friends we saw there. I was sadly feeling under the weather but still managed to have two drinks! My husband tested out the beer and reported back it was nice and cold. They have a variety of boozes, bottles beer and 3 beers on tap – Bud Light, Coors Light and Fat Tire. The tap beer is also available in pitchers.

We went over to the conference room side of the bar and grill where the staff had set up a buffet of appetizers for us to try out including pizza, tortellini, steak and mushrooms, meatballs and more pizza. My personal favorite was the pizza, in particular the white pizza. The meatballs were also good. I’m not a mushroom fan so I can’t comment on that dish. This room is available to reserve for meetings or parties (free of charge!) and can accommodate up to about 60 people I think they said. They have TV screens and equipment to hook up your laptop for presentations.

Shortly, we were greeted by one of the owners who explained the process of opening the bar and grill and their hopes for the future. Then, the manager spoke about the menu, the employees and what to expect. The restaurant seems to be staffed well and everyone seemed eager to serve us. We were broken into groups to be seated.

AngelQuesadilla

We were seated with another couple who we hadn’t met before so it was fun to visit with them. The menu is huge – there is a nice selection of appetizers (nachos, cheese curds, wings, etc.), burgers (beef and bison), wraps, salads, sandwiches, pizza and stromboli and then what I’ll call the larger main meals that are served with soup or salad, a side and the main dish – steaks, seafood, pork, etc. They have several cuts of beef available to order and would like to be known as a steakhouse. My husband went with the prime rib while I ordered Angel’s Quesadilla (named for the chef training in the new staff). The prime rib came with crab chowder (soup of the day) and garlic mashed potatoes with gravy. My dish came with a side of cottage cheese. You can see the serving sizes are quite generous. My dish is on the menu for about $11. The quesadilla was stuffed with melted cheese, chicken, peppers, onions and cilantro. I loved it! It tasted so fresh and I loved it has cilantro in it. I had water and iced tea with my dish. I took half of my dish home as leftovers.

Our dining mates had steaks with salad – a sirloin and a ribeye. Their sides were also the mashed potatoes and the other one was grilled veggies. He said they were great – they were seasoned nicely and I believe it was zucchini and squash. I appreciate they have a veggie side instead of just potatoes. The steaks were cooked as requested and the ribeye looked especially good. The main dishes are served with a fresh loaf of bread.

I felt prices were reasonable. A burger is about $12 and that includes a side. You can upgrade to onion rings for another $2. Steaks of course are more up in the upper $20’s. Pizza and strombolis come in large or small and are about $15 and $20 respectively, depending on toppings.

BrownieDessert

Dessert was served to everyone in a nice, small portion. This was a homemade brownie with strawberries and ice cream.

We have been to the restaurant once more as paying customers with my parents and another couple. The nachos were a hit at our table and the burgers are huge. The table ordered a brownie to share and I would recommend sharing it. It was HUGE and came with two scoops of ice cream, whipped cream and chocolate sauce. It was great. Our service has so far always been great.

We really hope the bar and grill succeeds. Our little town needs a place to go for a nice meal or even just a few drinks and an appetizer. They are open Monday-Saturday at 11 a.m. and Sunday at 4 p.m. They have daily specials available. We can’t wait to visit again and again! Best wishes! Be sure if you are local to check this place out and support our local businesses.

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Dinner idea, Feisty Eats, FeistyLife, Misc, Restaurant Reviews, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Bison Bar & Grill, Hazen

  1. Kate Sutter says:

    It wasvery good. I hope they keep theclocal support and the doors open.

Leave a Reply

