Instant Pot Glazed Carrots

It is that time of the year, garden carrots are popping up in all their orange and yellow glory. We had a bunch in our CSA basket and I also had a bunch I had purchased on sale. I personally really like the sweet, glazed cooked carrots BUT I didn’t want to heat up the oven and my house. So after looking around the internet, I came up with this method to glaze the carrots in the Instant Pot using a secret ingredient.

GlazedCarrots

Baking soda. Yep, I’m not a scientist but there is some reaction with the baking soda that will allow the carrots to glaze. I figured it was worth a try and was quite happy with the results. I left my carrots whole (I like the look) but you could chop them if you wanted to.

IMG_5516

Instant Pot Glazed Carrots, serves 4-6 as a side dish

Ingredients

  • 2-3 lb. carrots, cleaned and trimmed
  • 1 Tablespoon butter
  • ½ tsp. baking soda
  • 1 Tablespoon honey

Directions:

Place your IP on high saute and add butter. Let it melt and add in your carrots saute for just a minute or two. Add in the baking soda and honey. Put on and lock lid in place with IP on manual for 4 minutes. Once it has come to pressure and time is up, quick release the steam using an oven mitt. Remove from IP and serve.

IMG_5519

I found no need to add more liquid – the butter and natural juices from the carrots was enough for this short time. These reheat just fine in the microwave. Enjoy!

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Sides, Veggie. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Instant Pot Glazed Carrots

  1. Kate Sutter says:

    They look really good.

  2. Going to try this! I am LOVING My Instant Pot!

Leave a Reply

