Yogurt Fruit Tart

I kind of dreamed up this recipe/saw similar ones online. That happens often – I get an idea from somewhere and then tweak it to what I have on hand or to my tastes. This could be served as a breakfast, snack or even as a dessert because it is perfectly sweet and tasty, but still healthy. This light and fresh recipe will be a hit throughout the summer. Truth be told, I could just eat the crust on its own. And how perfect is this design for the end of the summer Olympics? USA – Slay All Day!

YogurtFruitTart

I have recently become somewhat obsessed with dates. I got these huge ones at Sam’s Club and they are perfectly chewy and sweet and why did it take me all of these years to try dates? The crust is blended in the food processor – easy. Dates, walnuts (I think cashews or pecans would also work well here) some unsweetened coconut and a dash of cinnamon. I truly could have (and might one day) rolled these into little balls and then dredged them in some more coconut for some energy bites. I’m afraid I might lack self-control around those though.

IMG_5476

Yogurt Fruit Tart – serves 8

Crust:

  • 2 cups pitted dates (about 16), if you have dried dates, just soak them for about 10 minutes in warm water before using
  • 1 3/4 cup walnuts
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened coconut flakes
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon

Yogurt:

  • 1 1/2 cups super thick and creamy vanilla yogurt (Greek would be best)
  • 1-2 scoops vanilla protein powder (optional but helps to thicken the yogurt)
  • 1/8 teaspoon almond extract
  • 1/4 sugar free jam or preserves, whatever flavor you like, I used blackberry

Toppings

  • Berries of your choice, I used blackberries, raspberries, blueberries and some dried coconut

In a food processor, pulse together the dates, nuts, coconut flakes and cinnamon until the mixture clumps together and is evenly sized. Press into a greased 9” springform pan. Use your fingers (wet with water for ease) to spread crust evenly.

Stir together yogurt, protein powder and almond extract. Pour on top of the crust.

In a microwave, gently melt your jam and spread it over your tart.

Top with berries in any design you like. Serve chilled. Keep leftovers in the fridge. I did freeze some of ours and let it thaw in the fridge and that worked great as well.

I had made this with the intention of eating slices for breakfast but we really enjoyed this as a refreshing dessert on a string of warm days.

IMG_5477IMG_5478

My fruit choices and that delicious crust – turned out perfect!

IMG_5479

Give this healthy tart a try. Enjoy!

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Breakfast, Dessert, Healthy Living, Pie. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

