No Bake Honey Bites

I am very lucky that I have a friend I work with who has access to honey that is made on his parents land. Honey is expensive! He hooks me up a few times a year and as a small thank you, I try to bake him something here or there.

HoneyBites

This latest go around, I didn’t feel like baking since it was super hot outside. Instead, I came up with these No Bake Honey Bites that are a little nice and a little naughty. They have some good for you ingredients and some not-so-good for you ingredients. They are rolled up into little bites so you can pop one or two in your mouth and not feel too guilty. I got this recipe from Gimme Some Oven website and doubled it for about 50 bites.

IMG_5512

No Bake Honey Bites, makes about 50 bites, recipe via Gimme Some Oven

INGREDIENTS:

2 cups (dry) oatmeal (I used old-fashioned oats)
1 1/3 cup toasted, sweetened coconut flakes
1 cup peanut butter
1 cup ground flax seed
1 cup mini semisweet chocolate chips
2/3 cup honey
2 tablespoons chia seeds 
2 teaspoons vanilla extract

DIRECTIONS:

Stir all ingredients together in a medium bowl until thoroughly mixed. Cover and let chill in the refrigerator for at least an hour.

Once chilled, roll into balls of whatever size you would like. (Mine were about 1″ in diameter.) Store in an airtight container and keep refrigerated or freeze. I think they would be fine stored on the counter, but I personally prefer them chilled.

IMG_5513

These bites are perfectly sweet with honey, coconut flakes and mini chocolate chips. But, you don’t have to start the oven and warm up the house for these sweet treats. They are great for a snack, pre or post workout, breakfast or as dessert. I’ll be back later this week with a dessert idea including these bites. Enjoy!

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Baking, Breakfast, Cookies, Dessert. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to No Bake Honey Bites

  1. Pingback: Guilt-free Banana Ice Cream | Feisty Eats

Leave a Reply

