Spicy Sausage, Kale and Zucchini Noodles

This summer we have really been enjoying our CSA share through Forager Farm. We purchased a single share and have been very pleasantly surprised on the bulk of veggies we receive each week.

SpicySausageZoodles

When we moved to Hazen, I thought a CSA share wouldn’t be something possible for us. Generally, bigger cities have access to these services. While we do have a garden at home (thanks to my husband), it won’t start producing until later this summer. These early veggies have been awesome!

IMG_5525

That said, we are gone several evenings each week where I don’t make meals. I have occasionally found myself in a pinch to use up a bunch of veggies before they go bad. I am entirely too cheap to waste food. It’s sad to know there are hungry people in our great state when I have access to so much great food.

IMG_5527

With a fridge full of zucchini and kale, I came up with this dish to use up those wonderful veggies. It turned out great and the leftovers heated up nicely. And, of course, it was really healthy with all those veggies.

IMG_5524

Spicy Sausage, Kale and Zucchini Noodles, serves 4

Ingredients

  • 1 lb. spicy sausage – any meat, decased if needed
  • 2 large garlic cloves, minced
  • 1/2 cup diced spring onion (use the white/red parts)
  • 1/4 cup loosely packed basil leaves, chopped
  • 1/2 teaspoon red pepper flakes (or to taste)
  • 5-6 heaping cups chopped kale and or pac choy, chopped
  • 3 medium zucchinis, spiralized
  • 1/3 cup grated Parmesan cheese and more to garnish

Instructions

  1. Heat a large skillet over medium-high heat. Add in the sausage, cooking for 10-12 minutes or until it browns and cooks completely, crumbling it as it cooks. Remove the sausage with a slotted spoon and set aside to drain. Reserve about 1 tablespoon grease. (Add in some olive oil if you don’t have enough grease.)
  2. Add in the garlic, onions, basil, red pepper flakes and chopped greens. Let cook for 2-3 minutes until greens wilt. Then, add in the zucchini noodles and toss 3-5 more minutes or until noodles are al dente and any water is evaporated.
  3. Add in the Parmesan cheese and sausage and toss until combined and cheese is melted.
  4. Divide into bowls and serve, garnish with more cheese and spring onions.

IMG_5530

We both enjoyed this dish. I think it would be good served with a dollop of marinara as well. I added more red pepper flakes because I love the heat. Enjoy!

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Dinner, Dinner idea, Main Dish, Veggie. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Spicy Sausage, Kale and Zucchini Noodles

  1. Will have to admit zucchini isn’t one of my favorite vegetables, but I think we’d both like zoodles!

Leave a Reply

