Bulk Shopping

THE BEST PROJECT YOU’LL EVER WORK ON IS YOU! This saying is true and sometimes hard to accept. You have to realize you are worth the time and energy to get fit, get healthy and be happy. If you can’t make that choice, none of these tips will work for you. You need to want to improve yourself. Continuing on with some tips that have helped me in my wellness journey – let’s talk bulk shopping!

Bulk

I’ll be the first to tell you that we are so lucky in Hazen to have Krause’s Market in our small town. They have a large variety and never hesitate to try new items. I’ve seen more organic, gluten free and healthy type products recently. I do my best to do a lot of my weekly shopping there. However, we do still sometimes go to Sam’s Club to do a big bulk shop. Sam’s is about 75 miles from us and we go maybe once a month.

20160506_191919

The Sam’s Club membership is about $50 a year but you don’t need a bulk membership. Many grocery stores are offering more bulk options and you can buy in bulk when items are on sale. So if you live in Minot or an area with no bulk stores, you can still use these tips. You will need a place to store this stuff and I recommend having at least an extra freezer, a pantry and maybe an extra fridge. I know these are pretty common things in rural ND, maybe not so much in a big city.

20160506_192026

Buying in bulk may be more common for people with large families. My family is only myself and my husband but we still find things to buy while leaving the bulk shampoo, laundry detergent and other food items alone. Only buy what you know you will use. You might get sick and tired of that 20 count pack of gum.

20160506_191941

We have two gallons of these banana pepper rings!

Many people think healthy eating is expensive. It can be, but it doesn’t have to be. If you watch your grocery ads, you can always get sales. When our Krause’s ad comes out, I always turn it to the back page where they show the produce sales. I generally will buy what is on sale and incorporate that into the meals I eat during the week. If you have a Sam’s Club membership, they have a ton of bad food there, but they also really have an excellent selection of health food. Some staples we stock up on are chicken breasts (usually under $2 a pound and we portion them and freeze individually at home), hummus, fresh veggies (green beans, broccoli, romaine, etc.), fresh fruit (bananas, blueberries, whatever is in season), frozen fruits and veggies, yogurt, eggs, cottage cheese, almond milk and more. They have more and more organic options if that is of interest to you. Sam’s or the grocery market bulk bins are great for oats, lentils, dry beans and more.

20160506_192119

One of our other favorite thing to buy at Sam’s is spices. They have a huge selection of spices and as I’ve said before, seasoning your food is a huge step in starting to eat more healthily. They have salt-free options, pepper, cinnamon and more. Just check out our pantry. These spices can be used alone or mix them together for a custom blend. I even have some bulk spices my Mom brought me back from an Arizona market when she was there for super cheap.

20160506_192002

Buying in bulk benefits:

  • You get more product at a better cost per unit (know your prices, just in case)
  • You don’t run out for a long time
  • You don’t have to go to the store as often – maybe just fill in with fresh food items
  • Experiment – I’ve been buying dry beans and lentils to make in my Instant Pot and while they are shelf stable, I want to learn how to use them in new to me ways
About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Feisty Eats, FeistyLife, Healthy Living, Misc. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

