Las Vegas, 2016, What I Ate

Wow – finally almost a month after I went to Vegas I have my last post recapping our trip. I saved the best for last. THE FOOD!

LVWhatIAte

Vegas is full of food from fine dining options to $1 shrimp cocktails and everything in between. For real. I think for our group, drinks, fun and gambling were in the forefront and not so much the food. Here is where we ate.

After walking for several hours, we were hungry and you get a bit overwhelmed with food options. We popped into Gilley’s which is a country western bar by Treasure Island. We shared the Texas Nachos Grande (chips with chili, cheese sauce, olive, jalapenos, pico and sour cream) and they were good. Nothing to write home about but hit the spot. I wish restaurants would quit using cheese sauce. Ugh. It looked like everything on the menu was large and in charge, sharing should work just fine. They had beer specials that I took advantage of.

Snapchat-8646194467969711251Snapchat-591198784191922937220160401_150732

Yardbird – Southern Table & Bar in The Venetian. This was probably our “nice” meal of the trip. I saw a few odds and ends that looked good and decided to start with the Warm Farmer’s Cheese & Watermelon, $6. The farmers cheese was torched on top and served atop the cold watermelon with a celery leaf and lemon oil. I thought this starter was delicious and could have eaten another one. We were there for brunch and I was craving some healthy food to hopefully set off the nachos and beer. I ordered the House-Made Granola with berries, organic yogurt and mint for $14. It was all delicious, hit the spot. My Mom went with the Egg & Sausage Biscuit for $16 with a fried egg, house-made sausage, cheese and tomato. Unfortunately, the sausage didn’t sit well with her and she thought it tasted funny. The place is known for their fried chicken which is brined for 27 hours. We saw several people order the chicken and waffles ($36) but the portions are just over the top too big. We decided to go for dessert and got the butterscotch cake as neither of us have had it before. It was beautiful and huge but kind of a letdown we didn’t really taste butterscotch. The problem I have with spending money on food in Vegas at supposedly “good” spots is I have been let down. Back when Emeril was super popular, we went to his restaurant and was letdown there also. I have had better luck and middle or lower end places. I’ll probably keep trying though. (It was quite dark in this restaurant.)

Snapchat-3736409223043157560Snapchat-2104293727179801675Snapchat-7635577628611168114Snapchat-6807399926590365411

Margaritaville was the only place where all 13 of our group went. We were looking for a fun, relaxed lunch outside and this fit the bill perfectly. Our server was on top of everything and was quick. I think our table had FOUR orders of the Volcano Nachos (pic from their website) – chips with chili, cheese, pico , guacamole, sour cream and jalapenos. Sharing for 2-3 is fine. Huge portions. The outdoor deck was great for people watching. I also had the margarita flight which was an excellent idea. It was about $20. You get the house margarita, blueberry pomegranate margarita, fins to the left (blue curacao) margarita and my favorite was the last mango in Paris margarita with Cointreau and real mango chunks. So refreshing in the warm sun! I guess Jimmy Buffet has a good idea!

MargaritavilleSnapchat-7132346957895173084

Serendipity 3 – on our last meal of the trip, we were both looking for something on the healthier side. We didn’t know where to go and stumbled onto Serendipity 3 outside of Caesars. I have heard of Serendipity many times for their Frrrozen hot chocolates and over the top ice creams. We were pleasantly surprised with the brunch menu though. Mom went with the Central Park Omelet for $18, egg white omelet with spinach, Swiss cheese and avocado. It was served with fried breakfast potatoes which she left. It was OK though because she couldn’t even finish the huge omelet. (Where are the places that have normal portions?) I went with the Season’s Best Fruit Platter for $17 which was assorted fresh berries and fruit served with a fresh coconut bowl of honey vanilla yogurt and granola trail mix. I don’t know if it was the freshness or what but this was probably my favorite dish of the trip – right up there with the Farmers Cheese. The presentation was beautiful and I couldn’t quite finish it all. The seating was awesome – in the sun, right on the strip. I think we’d go back for some of that ice cream next time.

Snapchat-8679519385985303651Snapchat-8916574633665720901Snapchat-824920277219821106Snapchat-2871449312233058310

I also had pizza for a very reasonable price a few times from The Flamingo food alley. It was $8 for two large slices, was fresh and good.

A few friends went to the Yard House outside of The Flamingo and said it was quite good as well. 

We stopped at several places for some beer flights, a chocolate truffle or a veggie juice. We didn’t want to take too much time away from people watching. Can’t wait to go again!

Snapchat-7872606540406777897Snapchat-7956938257102516617Snapchat-8252440391251300520

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Dessert, Dinner, Dinner idea, Feisty Eats, FeistyLife, Misc. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Las Vegas, 2016, What I Ate

  1. Amanda says:

    Food is always the best part of traveling, and Vegas has great options! My fave is breakfast outside at Mon Ami Gabi at the Paris.

  2. Kate Sutter says:

    Serendipity was great. Just way too much.

Leave a Reply

