Venison Sausage, Veggie and Rice Skillet

This is a meal I kind of threw together hoping it would work with what I had on hand in my pantry and freezer. Sometimes I really want to clean out those storage areas so I can fill them up again. Endless cycle. I thought this meal turned out great so I am sharing here today. Everything is made in one pan with the help of some microwaved rice and veggies. You could certainly sub in leftover cooked veggies or rice/potatoes, etc. This is easy, makes a lot and also freezes well for future leftovers.

VenisonSkillet

It was kind of my own version of Chopped – using ingredients I had on hand and throwing them together hoping it works. And it did! Whew!

IMG_5396

Venison Sausage, Veggie and Rice Skillet

  • 1 package venison sausage (feel free to sub chicken sausage or your other faves – use about 1 pound total)
  • 1 Tbsp. olive oil
  • 1 bell pepper, diced
  • 1 onion, diced
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 tsp. dried Italian seasoning
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • 1-14.5 ounce can Italian seasoned petite diced tomatoes
  • 4 cups veggies (I recommend green beans or broccoli for color)
  • 4 cups cooked rice (I used a mix of brown and long grain white)

IMG_5398

Brown and fully cook your sausage in a large, deep skillet over medium-high heat. Alternatively you, you could grill this or use leftover cooked sausage. Remove from heat to cool slightly and slice into bite size pieces. In the same skillet, add olive oil, pepper and onion and cook for 5-7 minutes, until softened. Add in garlic and seasonings. Cook for another minute. Add in your can of tomatoes and stir all together, getting up any browned bits from the bottom of the pan. Let it reduce slightly, about 5 minutes. Add in veggies, rice and sausage and stir to combine and heat through. This makes 6 generous servings.

IMG_5399

Enjoy!

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Dinner, Dinner idea, Main Dish. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Venison Sausage, Veggie and Rice Skillet

  1. Kate Sutter says:

    YES, supper. Good idea.

Leave a Reply

