Asian Chopped Salad

This recipe is a winner! It is easy, the dressing and meat mixture can be made in advance. I even assemble the salads in advance a day before and let them sit, covered in the fridge so it gets super cold. Brown your meat and dinner is ready. This is THE perfect meal for a warm spring or summer day. We gobbled this up!

AsianChoppedSalad

I browse through quite a few food blogs. Often times, I pass by recipes, but sometimes I see one and I know I have to make it. Or make something like it. Such is the case with this Skinny Taste recipe for Asian Chopped Salad. I knew I didn’t have everything on hand and I kind of detest water chestnuts so I swapped things up a bit to make my own recipe. A few take aways:

  • Making your own dressing is so easy, so much healthier and so super tasty
  • The recipe ingredients look long but some are used twice and most are pantry staples
  • Ground chicken, beef, turkey or tofu would all work in this recipe
  • Make it your own – add in your favorite vegetables
  • Spice is nice, I like it spicy but you can omit or reduce measurements if you don’t care for heat

IMG_5402

Asian Chopped Salad, based on this recipe from Skinny Taste. Don’t be intimidated by the long recipe list, most are pantry staples.

INGREDIENTS FOR THE SALAD DRESSING:

  • 3 tablespoons rice vinegar
  • 1/2 tablespoon olive oil
  • 1 teaspoon sesame oil
  • 1 teaspoon honey
  • ½ scant teaspoon ground ginger
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • Salt and pepper, to taste

FOR THE GROUND BEEF:

  • 1/4 scant cup hoisin sauce
  • 1 tablespoon rice vinegar
  • 1 tablespoon Sriracha sauce
  • 2 tablespoons soy sauce
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground ginger
  • 1 pound lean ground beef
  • 2 green onions, thinly sliced
  • 12-15 spears asparagus, chopped into ½” to 1” pieces
  • Red pepper flakes, S&P to taste

FOR THE SALAD:

  • 1-2 romaine hearts, chopped
  • 2 carrots, chopped
  • Green onion and cilantro as garnish

DIRECTIONS:

For the dressing: In a small bowl, whisk together the vinegar, oils, honey, ginger, garlic, and salt and pepper to taste. Set the dressing aside. For the ground beef: In a medium bowl, whisk together the hoisin, vinegar, Sriracha, soy sauce, and ginger. Set aside. Heat a medium skillet over medium-high heat. Add the beef and cook until browned and cooked through, 8 to 10 minutes. If you don’t have lean beef, drain and rinse your beef. If it is lean, remove from pan and set aside. In the warm pan, add in your green onion and asparagus, season with red pepper flakes, salt and pepper to taste. Cook until done, about 3 minutes. Add back in ground beef and your hoisin mixture. Cook another 3-4 minutes to heat through. Remove from heat and set aside. For the salad, combine lettuce and carrots. Toss with dressing and divide into 4 servings (or 3 if you are us!!). Top each evenly with beef mixture. Garnish with green onion and cilantro. Serve immediately.

IMG_5403IMG_5404

IMG_5405

If you have leftover servings, you can dress the salad and place it in the fridge for use the next day or two. I wouldn’t go longer than that. Store the leftover beef in a dish in the fridge that can be reheated.

IMG_5406IMG_5407

I love how this salad looks. So green and spring like. I told my husband I could eat this every day for lunch. I think I could.

IMG_5410

Enjoy!

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Dinner, Dinner idea, Main Dish, Salad, Veggie. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Asian Chopped Salad

  1. Yup, adding this to our menu soon. I love protein-rich salads. Plus, it’s hard to go wrong when you season beef with sesame oil, ginger, soy, etc.

Leave a Reply

