Frozen Foods

THE BEST PROJECT YOU’LL EVER WORK ON IS YOU! This saying is true and sometimes hard to accept. You have to realize you are worth the time and energy to get fit, get healthy and be happy. If you can’t make that choice, none of these tips will work for you. You need to want to improve yourself. Continuing on with some tips that have helped me in my wellness journey – let’s talk frozen foods!

FrozenFoods

I feel like frozen foods can sometimes get a bad wrap and that is not fair. These are generally more economical and very friendly to us in North Dakota during winter months when we can’t get fresh produce. I love the veggies that come in steam bags – you can microwave them for 5 minutes and have a huge bowl of healthy broccoli ready to go. Use frozen fruit for smoothies or in yogurt and oatmeal breakfasts. I like to get bulk packages at Sam’s Club. They are reasonably priced and of course, being frozen, keep well. Some of my favorites are the Daily Chef brand – broccoli, green beans or Normandy blend. Unlike some frozen broccoli that is all stems, this brand is all florets. You can get 4-1 lb. bags of any of these for $6. I myself will eat a bag for two meals. I love veggies! I have seen edamame there before and want to give that a try soon. Krause’s also has some good brands that microwave well. Also, if you don’t use or have a microwave, these packages generally have instructions on how to cook on your stove top. I often use frozen broccoli in casseroles or meals we prepare. Works great! Sam’s has been steadily increasing their organic options if that is something you desire. I have seen a lot of quinoa and brown rice steam mixtures available but have yet to try them. They seem to be continually offering new healthier options, even in the meals to go, like falafel sandwich wraps. Yum!

Veggies

We have an upright freezer and a chest freezer in addition to two fridge freezers. I feel like this is definitely a Midwest thing. We have plenty of house space and since my husband is a big hunter, we need space for pheasant, deer, goose, walleye or whatever else he has his eye on. We also buy a half a cow and butcher our own pig for a half hog. When I saw we, I mean him. I enjoy meat but don’t enjoy the butchering process besides making deer sausage. Not only is the more economical to buy the meat in bulk, we also get the satisfaction of knowing how the cow and pig were raised, what they were fed and know that they are very humanely cared for. In fact, where we get our cow, the rancher can ride his ATV right up to his huge bull and rub him on his ears. His name is Tazzy and he comes to the ATV when our friend drives out there. He really loves his owner! If you don’t have access to a rancher, you can certainly buy bulk at Sam’s or from someone you trust or know.

Meats

Above we have packaged burger, goose jerky (so good!), some more jerky and some bait, some walleye and a Pizza Corner for good measure. Balance!

Besides produce and meat, I like to buy frozen brown rice you can nuke in the microwave. So easy and quick. While the Instant Pot makes dried rice super quick, this is like last minute, I need a meal help saver. If your bananas or other fruit are going bad, simple chop and freeze them. Excellent for smoothies!

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Feisty Eats, FeistyLife, Healthy Living, Misc, Veggie. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

