Food Prep

THE BEST PROJECT YOU’LL EVER WORK ON IS YOU! This saying is true and sometimes hard to accept. You have to realize you are worth the time and energy to get fit, get healthy and be happy. If you can’t make that choice, none of these tips will work for you. You need to want to improve yourself. Continuing on with some tips that have helped me in my wellness journey – let’s food prep!

This is something that has become my normal in the past few years. By prepping your food for a few hours maybe once or twice a week, you will find healthy options readily available for you to grab when a craving strikes. You can prep pretty much any food, these are my biggest ones:

  • Thaw meat you want to cook and cook it once. I’ll often grill 4 chicken breasts and save the leftovers for salads, lunches, etc. Cook once, eat multiple times. If you are having taco night, make a double batch of meat and freeze the leftovers for later.
  • Clean, chop and bag your produce. Get a big cutting board and do all your produce at once. Add on top of salads, into dishes or grab for snacks. Keep in plastic zip top bags or Tupperware for freshness.

FoodPrep

  • Start your oven only once. Bake sweet potatoes in bulk, roast veggies on a sheet pan, make healthy banana bread, etc. If the oven is on and going; utilize it.
  • Portion into serving sizes. I eat yogurt and fruit as part of breakfast most days. I buy both of these items in bulk so I portion them into serving sizes into smaller Tupperware containers so I can grab one for my breakfast or to go if I need. Make several of the same meals at once for healthy lunches.

Yogurt

  • Have a cooking day. Once maybe every 3-4 months, I dedicate a whole day to cooking freezer meals. These are usually healthy casseroles or soups that I can freeze. We eat these for lunches or on nights when we don’t have time to cook or didn’t take any meat out to grill, things like that. We have a vacuum sealer so we can divide the meal out and also save room in our freezer. One day out of 3-4 months will save you valuable time and money in future months to come. I have even just taken meat and formed into meatballs with seasoning and freeze so I can grab and cook them with ease. Portion chicken breasts with either chicken wing sauce or salsa for easy Crock Pot or Instant Pot meals. I consider myself lucky that we don’t have options for fast food where I work. We are far away from restaurants and don’t have time so I have to prepare and bring my lunch everyday so I can make it healthy. We also don’t have many options in our small town for eating out so we eat out way less that we used to saving us money and calories and making the times we go eat more special.

freezer-x

  • If you don’t have a vacuum sealer, food freezes great in large zip top bags – even soup! Remember to label and date all packages, even in the fridge.
About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Healthy Living. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Food Prep

  1. I really really need to do more freezer bag meals. Do you have a favorite?

    • Feisty Eats says:

      Some of my stand bys are simple things like taco meat, sloppy joe meat, bbq chicken, buffalo chicken or basic seasoned meat that I can make into a variety of things like tacos, pizza, salads, flatbreads, etc. for variety. My husband likes soup so I make Pioneer Woman’s hamburger soup, a variety of chilis (I like a lot of the recipes from Skinny Taste). I also make cheeseburger casserole or chicken, broccoli and rice bake for my husband. Hope that helps!

  2. Lindy says:

    Your blog always does inspire me!

Leave a Reply

