Weight Loss Panel

Man, sometimes on this little old blog I feel like I have nothing to say. Then other times (like now) I have so much I want to say/share. On Tuesday, Feb. 23, I attended a panel put on by my work on weight loss. I left feeling truly inspired, reinvigorated and just plain happy. It’s one thing to hear testimonials on TV, online or in a magazine but to hear them in person from people you know was truly a moving experience for me. I know that sounds a bit dramatic but it is true. Weight loss, healthy living and fitness are things I could talk about for hours. I sometimes feel I missed my calling and would love to be in the fitness industry or a dietician. I am a work in progress and always learning and I have a feeling healthy living will always be a struggle for me. Maintaining weight is just as, if not, even more hard than losing weight.And don’t get me wrong, I still eat pizza, chips, chocolate, have drinks, etc. but these topics really, really interest me.

HealthyLiving

It is amazing that so many people don’t know what “healthy” is. Healthy comes in a lot of different forms but a lot of the population does not even know that eating out, eating processed packaged food and eating from a convenience store is not healthy. I don’t know if it is a faulty education system, not being raised with parents that know the difference or what? I was raised in a meat, potatoes and vegetable home. We always had those items on our dinner plates, often ate together and we played outside a lot, did sports and were generally active kids. I didn’t have a weight problem in high school though I always thought I was “fat” as I was and often am the biggest person in a room, at least when it comes to height. I still don’t always see myself at the size I am now, but the size I was when I started losing weight. Weight loss is just as much mental as physical. I really believe kids need to start moving and being more active at a young age and have that as a habit. We obviously don’t work as physically hard as people used to a few generations ago and computers/technology are not helping that issue.

20160312_101931

I have a few tips to I wanted to share that I utilized through my weight loss, fitness, healthier living, maintenance slash becoming a better person journey. To some people, they might be basic information, but to others, this might be new. I hope in sharing you get a few ideas for your fitness journey and it would be awesome if I could help even just one person.As I started typing these out, my list got quite long. I thought I’d start sharing a tip a week to spread them out. I’ll tag them“Healthy Living” so they are easy to find and aim to share a tip a week.

I go in spurts with cooking and recipes. Sometimes I go on a tear and really have a ton of new recipes and then I get in a rut and cook the same thing over and over again so I thought this would be a great addition to the blog. Right now my main topics seem to be dinner ideas, recipes, FeistyLife and now healthy living.

THE BEST PROJECT YOU’LL EVER WORK ON IS YOU

Best Project

This saying is true and sometimes hard to accept. You have to realize you are worth the time and energy to get fit, get healthy and be happy. If you can’t make that choice, none of these tips will work for you. You need to want to improve yourself. When you improve yourself, other parts of your life and those around you improve and change.

Tip #1: Flavor Your Food

A lot of people find healthy food to be bland. Trust me that your taste buds do change over time, give them a chance. A few of my favorite ways to flavor veggies or salads is to use condiments and/or spices. I like mustard, salsa (Sam’s Club On the Border brand or make your own fresh batch using the Pioneer Woman’s recipe), hot pepper sauce (Sriracha), balsamic vinegar and herbs, especially Italian seasonings, fresh cilantro, fresh lime juice and green onions. These add few calories but a burst of flavor. If you are watching your salt intake be careful which condiments you choose. Some great salt-free options are Mrs. Dash (she has a lot of flavors) and Flavor God Seasonings. Another product I’ve heard great things about, but haven’t used yet, is Tessemae’s. Her condiments are made with all natural ingredients, Whole 30 approved and low calorie. I’d really like to try the BBQ sauce. Of course, depending on your diet various condiments might not work for you. Use or limit higher calorie/fat options such as mayo, butter, oil or salad dressing type products. Healthier fat options would be hummus or avocado – a little goes a long way! Finally, one of my favorite seasoning is garlic – fresh or dried. Great flavor.

cilantro

If you are just beginning your weight loss journey, go ahead and top your food with some cheese or butter. Gradually decrease the cheese and try hummus or avocado in its place. Then go with some balsamic vinegar or try other options out. Give your taste buds a chance to adapt. Eat the rainbow and green is a great color to start with.

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Exercise, Feisty Eats, FeistyLife, Healthy Living, Misc. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Weight Loss Panel

  1. Chelsea says:

    You’re 100% right about adding flavor to your food! Some people ask me how I can stand eating chicken every week (I roast a whole chicken every weekend and eat the leftovers for lunch), and the answer is…season it! Plus, a lot of people don’t realize that herbs and spices have their own health benefits. So seasoning your food not only adds fresh new flavors, it boosts your health, too!

Leave a Reply

