Instant Pot Shredded Steak Sandwiches

Here is my final recipe I made from the inspiration of Rachael Ray and her Healthy Weeknight Meal Kit! I l have loved Rachael Ray for a long time and this was the perfect meal kit for me to try. I made changes to all her recipes based on my tastes and what I had on hand. This is what I cooked. I have to say I really enjoyed this sandwich. It was a great Sunday dinner meal. I don’t always really care for red meat. I love burger but steak and roasts are kind of whatever. So finding new ways to cook the meat (we butcher a cow and have A LOT of meat) has been a great success with both the Instant Pot and the Rachael Ray meals.

ShreddedSteak

One takeaway from this cooking experiment was that it is a lot of work to make these healthy meals after work every night. I can see where a working family might struggle with finding time. I did food prep and made sure I had everything lined up. Still, some nights it would have been easier to throw something on the grill and microwave some veggies – also a great meal. I thoroughly enjoyed following this meal plan though and hope I can find more to follow. It got me a little out of my comfort zone to cook foods I never would have before. Even if you can’t commit to cooking 5 nights a week, these meals would be good to have here and there. I hope you try some of these recipes.

Instant Pot Shredded Steak Sandwiches

  • 2 cups chicken stock
  • 1 lb. sirloin steak, trimmed and cut into large chunks
  • 6 cloves garlic – 3 smashed, 3 minced
  • 2 tsp. olive oil
  • 1 medium onion, finely chopped
  • 1 1/2 tsp. dried oregano
  • 1 can (14.5 oz.) petite diced tomatoes
  • 4 whole wheat hamburger buns
  • Garnish: shredded cheddar cheese, green onions

Set your Instant Pot* to sauté high. I like to do this to warm the pot up while I prep my ingredients. The IP heats quickly. Add in your stock, steak and 3 smashed garlic cloves. Put lid on tight and enter manual time of 25 minutes.

Once IP is done, release pressure manually. Remove steak and ½ cup stock to a bowl and shred meat. Discard any additional juices. Return stainless pot to the IP and set to sauté on high. Add in olive oil and the chopped onion; cook, stirring often for about 3 minutes until they soften. Add in the garlic and oregano and cook, stirring often, another 3 minutes. Add the tomatoes; cook and again stir often until thickened, about 5-6 minutes. Add the steak and stock and cook until the liquid nearly evaporates, about 9-10 minutes. Season with salt and pepper. Serve on a whole wheat hamburger bun, warm. Top with cheese and green onions.

*If you don’t have an Instant Pot, you can make this meal in a slow cooker, just adjust time as needed.

IMG_5346

The meat is so tender and juicy. Serve on a nice, thick whole wheat bun to soak up the juices. We liked ours topped with cheese and green onions.

IMG_5348

Serve with homemade fries for a restaurant style meal at home. This would be a great Friday night treat or Sunday meal. Enjoy!

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Dinner, Dinner idea, Main Dish. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Instant Pot Shredded Steak Sandwiches

  1. Pingback: 20 Amazing Instant Pot Beef Recipes! - Mom Saves Money

Leave a Reply

