Grilled Steak Salad with Roasted Vegetables

I’m sure like most people, every night is a struggle. What do you want for dinner? I don’t care. Whatever. Nothing. Let’s go out to eat. I find myself in a rut making the same things over and over again. We are lucky to have so much food that this is a worry, right? Anyway, I get a ton of magazines at home and one I really like is Rachael Ray Everyday. Her magazine has an insert each issue with a weekly shopping list and meals to make. I always read it but rarely follow it. This particular month though really caught my eye. It was a healthy weeknight meal kit and all the meals looked appealing to me and I thought my husband would like them too. The shopping list was easy, regular ingredients and the pantry items were indeed things I had on hand. The idea is to shop once and eat all week. Each recipe calls for four servings and I adjusted as needed. We had some leftovers for lunches and some things I just made for two – like this salad.

SteakSalad

I typically don’t care for steak too much. On top of a bed of cold lettuce and veggies though, I really enjoyed the steak. We seasoned ours liberally and I used just a balsamic vinegar as a dressing. The roasted veggies added a lot of flavor.

Grilled Steak Salad with Roasted Vegetables

This is a man and woman pleasing salad. I loved the sweet taste of the roasted veggies and he loved the steak on top. Serves 2

  • 1 sweet potato, spiralized
  • 1 large carrot, spiralized
  • 1 Tbsp. olive oil
  • ½ lb. sirloin steak, trimmed and grilled
  • Montreal steak seasoning, to taste
  • ½ large head romaine, chopped
  • ½ cucumber, spiralized
  • 4 green onions, chopped
  • 3 Tablespoons balsamic vinegar
  • Blueberries, pepperoncini and cilantro to taste

Preheat oven to 425F. Spiralize your sweet potato and carrot. If you don’t have a spiralizer, chop them in small pieces. Coat the veggies in olive oil and put on a large baking sheet. Season with salt and pepper. Roast, turning halfway through until brown and tender, about 15 minutes. *Note that I did this a day in advance and served them cold with the salad. Warm out of the oven would work too, whatever you prefer.

While veggies are roasting, grill your steak, be sure to cut off any fat or tough parts. Let it rest about 5 minutes and slice.

Arrange romaine on two plates and top with cucumber (chop if you don’t have a spiralizer), green onion, blueberries, pepperoncini, cilantro, sweet potato, carrot and any other veggies you’d like. Place meat on top and dress with balsamic vinegar.

IMG_5323

Blueberries and pepperoncini might sound like an odd combo but it really works! Top with any veggies you like – tomatoes would be great on here. Enjoy!

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Dinner, Dinner idea, Main Dish, Salad, Veggie. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

