Chicken and Refried Bean Tostadas

This is another recipe I made from the inspiration of Rachael Ray and her Healthy Weeknight Meal Kit. My love for any Mexican food runs deep. I love onions, tomato, cilantro, heat, beans and could practically drink salsa. For real. I was excited to make this meal.

Tostadas

This particular day I made these it was super nice and I was thinking a nice cold Pacifico beer would pair well with these. Maybe next time! Maybe this weekend?

IMG_5335IMG_5336

I sprinkled my tortillas with salt and a little chili powder for an added kick. Totally optional.

IMG_5337 

Chicken & Refried Bean Tostadas, serves 4

  • 8 small (6”) corn tortillas
  • Cooking spray
  • 1 1/2 lb. boneless, skinless chicken breast, cut into roughly 1” pieces
  • 2 tsp. olive oil, divided
  • 1 tsp. chili powder, divided
  • 1/2 onion, finely chopped (red, yellow or white)
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 can (15 oz.) low fat refried beans (I used a jalapeno version)
  • 2 cups thinly sliced romaine
  • 3 Tbsp. light sour cream
  • ½+ cup salsa
  • 3 Tbsp. shredded reduced-fat cheese (I used a Mexican version)

Preheat oven to 425F. Coat both sides of each tortilla with cooking spray and sprinkle with salt. Divide between two baking sheets. Bake, turning once until golden. Switch the pans from top to bottom if needed. Bake 9-10 minutes or until golden brown and crisped. Transfer to a cooling rack.

Toss the chicken in a medium bowl with 1/2 tsp. chili powder, salt and pepper. Place 1 tsp. of oil into a sauté pan on medium-high heat. Cook through and remove to a plate to cool and shred.

In the same pan, add the other teaspoon of oil and sauté onion, garlic and 1/2 tsp. chili powder. Cook, stirring often until veggies soften, 2-3 minutes. Add the beans; season with salt and cook until warm another 2-3 minutes. Remove from heat.

Spread the tortillas with beans, top with chicken and romaine. Top with romaine, sour cream, salsa and cheese. And hot sauce if you like!

IMG_5338

These were awesome. I love crisping up the corn tortillas and having them crunchy – the texture goes great with the soft beans, shredded chicken and cold salsa and lettuce.

IMG_5340

These were also really quick to come together and could easily be halved or doubled depending on your group size. I will be repeating this recipe.

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Dinner, Dinner idea, Main Dish. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Chicken and Refried Bean Tostadas

  1. kate says:

    A winner.

Leave a Reply

