Black Bean Soup

This is a recipe I made from the inspiration of Rachael Ray and her Healthy Weeknight Meal Kit. I loved this soup. I was surprised I liked it so much because I am not the biggest black bean fan in general. This combo gets my thumbs up!

BlackBeanSoup

This is a perfect work night meal, it comes together quick with some staple foods. For any meat lovers, I think this would pair well with shredded chicken or even ground beef. I really don’t think it needs any though as the black beans bulk this up and provide protein.

IMG_5325

Black Bean Soup, Serves 4

  • 1 Tbsp. olive oil
  • 1 medium onion, chopped
  • 1 medium carrot, chopped
  • 3 cloves of garlic, minced
  • 1 ½ tsp. (heaping) of chili powder
  • 1 tsp. dried oregano
  • 1 can (14.5 oz.) petite diced tomatoes
  • 2 cans (15 oz.) low-sodium black beans, rinsed
  • 3 cups low-sodium vegetable OR chicken stock

In a large soup pot, heat the oil over medium. Add the onion, carrot and garlic; cook until soft, about 8 minutes, stirring on occasion. Add chili powder and oregano, stir and cook for another minute. Add the tomatoes; cook, stir once in a while, until the liquid reduces slightly, about 5 minutes. Add the beans and stock, bring to a boil, reduce heat to a simmer and cook for about 20 minutes until the soup thickens and the flavors come together. Season with salt and pepper if needed.

Using a soup stick blender, puree about 1/3 to 1/2 of the soup. If you don’t have a stir stick blender, you could use a blender or mash with a potato masher. You don’t have to do this step, but it really adds some needed texture in my opinion.

Top with sour cream, hot sauce, cilantro, etc.

IMG_5328

The leftovers kept well and I imagine this would make an excellent freezer meal. We enjoyed it with a healthy dash of hot sauce. This would go great with tortilla chips as a dipper. Also, what an economical dish. Enjoy!

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Dinner, Dinner idea, Main Dish, Soup, Veggie. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Black Bean Soup

  1. Looks delicious. I could eat soup every night for dinner!

Leave a Reply

