Instant Pot: Korean Beef

I have gushed on this site before about my Instant Pot. This is a newer purchase for me and I am still learning how to use it with some trial and error. I’ve had mostly successes though. I find you really just have to play with it and figure what works best for you. Some of my successes are steamed eggs (done perfect and seem to peel easier?), steamed cauliflower (whole head at a time – love), chicken breast with seasoning and this Korean Beef.  The meat is fall apart tender, perfectly salty and goes great with rice and veggies. Such an easy weeknight meal.

KoreanBeef

As with most of my cooking adventures, I try to find recipes online and copy them until I get a hang of things myself. The Cookies and Cups website has been a great tool. She has posted several recipes that I will be trying out using the Instant Pot.

Being the little small town living people we are, we butcher our own beef and hog so we have a LOT of roasts. I love a roast done all day in the slow cooker with potatoes and carrots but it gets old. So when I saw this recipe, I knew I wanted to give it a try. Here are a few of my tips before we get into the recipe.

  • Fully thaw your meat in the fridge (the Instant Pot can cook frozen foods but not a roast – it’d be done on the outside and frozen inside.)
  • Cube your meat – not only will it cook faster, but you can remove as much fat as you can see.
  • Brown your meat – this adds so much flavor. Bonus you can sauté the meat in your Instant Pot!
  • Read directions of the recipe all the way through.
  • If you don’t have an IP, sauté your meat on the stovetop and cook in your slow cooker. High for 4 hours, low for 6 or 7 hours.

IMG_5297

Instant Pot Korean Beef, adapted from Cookies and Cups, serves 4 generously

INGREDIENTS

  • 2 pounds bottom roast, cut into cubes
  • Ground black pepper
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1 cup beef broth
  • ½ cup soy sauce
  • 5 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 teaspoon dried ginger powder
  • ½ teaspoon red pepper flakes, or to taste
  • Garnish: green onion, cilantro leaves

INSTRUCTIONS

Season the cubed roast liberally with pepper.

Heat Instant Pot to sauté. Once the pan is hot coat the pan with the olive oil and in batches brown the meat on all the sides. Transfer meat to a plate while you’re working.

Once all the meat is browned de-glaze the pan with the beef broth, scraping up all the browned bits. This is where the flavor lives!!

Pour in the soy sauce and stir to combine.

Return all the meat back to the pan and then place the garlic, ginger and red pepper flakes on top of the meat, stirring lightly to slightly combine.

Place the lid on your Instant Pot and using the manual button on normal pressure set to 35 minutes. Make sure the valve is closed.

Once the pot is done, release the steam. Remove meat with a slotted spoon and shred using a fork. It will be fall apart tender. Return to the pot with juices.

Serve over brown rice or veggies.

IMG_5298

NOTES

To make this recipe in the slow cooker follow all the steps 1-7. Slow cook on high for 4 hours or low for 6-7 hours.

The original recipe calls for fresh orange juice and I think that’d be amazing, I just didn’t have any on hand and was too lazy to drive to the store. Truth.

IMG_5300

One thing I want to mention on the IP is timing. You can see that I only had to take 35 minutes to cook a dang roast! Well, this doesn’t account for the time it takes the pot to come to pressure. This can vary depending on what you cook. I have found if you heat the pot on sauté (even if you aren’t sautéing) while you get your ingredients ready and warm up the pot it comes to pressure quicker. Generally at most you are adding on about 10 minutes. So you still can set it and forget it and go get your laundry or whatever while the meal cooks. I actually changed out laundry and prepped the meal for the next night. I am slightly obsessed with this machine right now.

IMG_5305

Forgive the dark lighting. Our days are slowly getting longer and soon I’ll be eating in daylight again. Enjoy!

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Dinner, Main Dish. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Instant Pot: Korean Beef

  1. kate says:

    Is this basically a pressure cooker? Or similar?

  2. Tracie B. says:

    Making this one tonight!

Leave a Reply

