Mexican Food, 2016

I’d be remiss to mention the food on Feisty Eats website, right? I certainly didn’t photograph everything I ate, but I tried to take photos here and there. The food was all delicious. Fresh, fast and again, great service. There is a big buffet, room service, a beach side restaurant, pool side service, a steak house, poolside burgers, a grill type place and then for “nicer” options and Italian place and Japanese place. Most evenings there was also a large outdoor buffet celebrating some themed event. I think I covered them all? Lots of options anyway.

Snapchat-2457561902172653725Snapchat-6962755341678416468

I forgot to mention they have a coffee shop and throughout the day they have a small selection of foods such as fruit, yogurt, sandwiches, salads and chips. I LOVED their yogurt cups with granola and honey along with the fruit cup. The fruit was so fresh and wonderful and the yogurt nice and thick. I also enjoyed the caprese salad with pesto.

Snapchat-304064132121561298

Towards the end of the trip we found a salad bar with a lot of fresh veggies. We were getting tired of the heavy food and this hit the spot. I appreciated the corn and zucchini. The mozzarella cheese was also good though. Oh and guacamole everything, please.

Snapchat-806111725345017675

It’s so dumb but we really love the snack mix they serve in the lobby bar. I am fairly certain they sell it at Sam’s Club but it just tastes better with drinks and fresh air flowing through the lobby I think!

20160207_171546

The Superbowl had the above menu available. Those that had it said the clam chowder in the bread bowl was amazing. As for the burger with the blueberry (?) gravy, no one ordered it. I think some things might (hopefully) get lost in translation. I just ate off of the huge buffet spread they had and it was great.

20160207_084710

This was a breakfast dish of mine – it is toast with refried beans, cheese, salsa and guacamole. I loved it.

20160209_11102220160209_111026

Mark enjoyed this red snapper with cous cous and rice one day at lunch. On the right, I opted for a fajita wrap with…beans, salsa and guacamole. I see a theme with me!

20160209_181440

We ate at the Italian restaurant twice. It is a fancier place with a dress code and excellent food. I went for the caprese salad, bread basket and spinach stuffed chicken breast with gnocchi. We were too full for dessert. My only complaint is I don’t feel Mexican dessert is ‘worth’ it. It is fine but perhaps just not what I am used to is all?

20160209_18155820160209_185208

We were given an amuse bouche of cucumber with cherry cream and seasoned shrimp. My chicken and gnocchi is on the right. So good.

20160210_155725

We found ourselves bellied up to the ocean side bar one afternoon (if you can believe that) and I ordered a spinach and blue cheese pizza – LOVED it.

20160207_162602

Of course, we can’t forget all the excellent drinks. They will make you anything you want if they have it on hand.

We also visited the Japanese restaurant (just forgot my phone for photos) and had the teppanyaki grill. The rice was to die for. So fresh and delicious. I had the chicken (all the chicken was so good there) and rib eye. Out of our group of 8 at the table, the salmon seemed to receive the highest remarks. We also ate there off the menu one day but preferred the grill service.

So there is a “taste” of the foods at Secrets Capri, Riviera Maya. Yum! And now, excuse me while I go eat some lettuce and exercise. HA!

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Feisty Eats, FeistyLife, Misc. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

