Burger in a bag

This was a fun, new recipe for me to try. Are you familiar at all with walking tacos or tacos in a bag? These are exceedingly popular at sporting or community events where I live. It is simply a single serve bag of nacho chips topped with ground taco seasoned beef and topped with lettuce, tomatoes, onions, taco sauce and whatever other taco toppings you like. You can squish it and mix it all together in the bag for easy and tasty transportation.

BurgerinaBag

My friend, Prairie Style Files (hi Alicia!), recently posted about a little deli (Favorites Drive Thru Deli) in Breckenridge, MN who serves up a burger in a bag. All the burger fixings on a bed of Funyuns. I knew needed this meal in my life. I don’t have any plans to travel to Breck in the near future, so I decided to come up with my own spin on this idea.

IMG_5280

Instead of buying a single serving bag of Funyuns, I bought one normal sized bag of Bugles. Bugles were on sale and they remind me of my Grandma Florence. She always had them at her house and I haven’t eaten them in years. Bugles it was. Funyuns would be great here and I think even just plain rippled potato chips would work too. I wanted a loose meat type of topping to go on my Bugles and came up with this recipe combining some tastes of Maid Rites and Slushburgers (aka sloppy joes). I think they turned out great.

IMG_5282

Burger in a Bag

  • 1 lb. lean ground beef
  • 1 small-medium red onion, diced
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • ½ tsp. Montreal steak seasoning
  • 1 Tbsp. brown sugar
  • 1 Tbsp. vinegar
  • 1 Tbsp. Worcestershire sauce
  • 1 Tbsp. soy sauce
  • 1 Tbsp. ketchup
  • 1 Tbsp. yellow mustard

Brown ground beef, onion and garlic over medium heat in a large skillet. Drain grease if needed. Add other ingredients and simmer about 5-10 minutes. Serve over the base(below) and add toppings as you please.

  • Base: Bugles or Funyuns
  • Toppings: lettuce, tomatoes, picks, onions, cheese, mayo and more mustard and ketchup to your liking.

BurgerBagCollage

You will want to put the chips on the bottom and the meat immediately on top to soften up the chips. Next add the cheese so it melts and the rest of the toppings can be added however you like.

Please give this recipe a try. I bet kids would love customizing their own “burgers” and if you need a new twist on tacos in a bag, this would be a great alternative.

IMG_5287

I have to mention, I accidentally dropped some meat on the floor and this is definitely yellow labrador approved. Thanks, Winston!

IMG_5281

Enjoy!

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Dinner, Dinner idea, Main Dish, Salad. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Burger in a bag

  1. Tracie B. says:

    This is just too perfect. And I’m glad Winston got a taste too!

Leave a Reply

