Mexican Smashed Sweet Potato

When I am working out, I am constantly thinking. Usually of my to-do list, what I should clean at home and most often, what I should eat next. It’s true! Such was the case when I came up with this idea for dinner. It’s basically a twice cooked sweet potato topped with all my Mexican favorites – guacamole, salsa, cilantro, jalapenos and more.

MexicanSmash

This is mostly just a dinner idea – you could customize these potatoes any way you’d like. I think they’d be great topped with buffalo chicken, cumin spiced ground beef or some cheese and veggies. If you don’t want to load the potato, they make a perfect side dish.

Mexican Smashed Sweet Potato

  • 1 medium sweet potato – baked or boiled
  • olive oil, salt and pepper

Preheat oven to 450F. Quarter or cut into small pieces your potato. This also works for white potatoes but the baking time will differ. Using a fork, smash the potato so it is flat. Spray lightly with olive oil and season with salt and pepper. Bake for 20 minutes, with the last 5 minutes on broil. – Note that baking times may vary, it really depends on the moisture content of your potato.

Mexican toppings

  • Chopped, cooked chicken breast
  • Cheese
  • Guacamole
  • Salsa
  • Tomatoes, green onion, hot sauce, cilantro, pickled jalapenos, cottage cheese or sour cream – whatever you like

IMG_5255IMG_5256

The potatoes before and after. I spritzed them with my Misto olive oil sprayer. It is pretty cool, it basically pressurizes the olive oil so it sprays like Pam baking spray, letting you use less oil than if you drizzle the potatoes. I sprinkled mine with black pepper and lime salt.

IMG_5257

I snagged this guacamole/spicy pico combo at the store and it is delicious. Great kick!

IMG_5258

My potato toppings assembled and ready for eating!

IMG_5259

The smashed potato. They harden up and the surface where you smashed it down gets crispy – great textures.

IMG_5261

I like to use a little dollop of cottage cheese instead of sour cream. Yum.

IMG_5262

Devoured this! Enjoy!

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Dinner, Dinner idea. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Mexican Smashed Sweet Potato

  1. Smart, Jennifer says:

    My mouth totally started watering reading this… Thanks for sharing!!! Mmmmm….

  2. kate says:

    Qsounds so good and easy. Yum

Leave a Reply

