Whole Wheat Healthy Banana Bread

So this might not fall under hard work, but I have baked numerous loafs of banana bread until I found this easy recipe. Bake, test, eat, repeat.

BananaBreadPM

Almost every morning I have yogurt for breakfast. I like to top it with fruit and I used to always top it with a granola bar or protein bar or something like that. I thought instead of wasting money on those spendy bars, I could come up with my own healthy option. Finally, I came up with a banana bread that does the trick for me. It isn’t too sweet to pass for a dessert on its own, but gives me the texture I like at breakfast. It’s full of good foods too!

IMG_5244

Banana bread is really forgiving and you can kind of eyeball some of the ingredients. Here I used 2 large bananas but 1 1/2 would work or more if you had them. Use milk of your choice and brown sugar could sub for the honey. Feel free to add in nuts or chocolate chips if you’d like.

Whole Wheat Healthy Banana Bread, based off off Ambitious Kitchen

Ingredients 

  • 2 large smashed bananas (the older and blacker, the better – they sweeten up with age)
  • 1/3 cup honey
  • 4 oz. individual cup unsweetened applesauce
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1 egg
  • 3/4 cup unsweetened vanilla almond milk 
  • 1 1/2 cups whole wheat flour
  • 1 cup rolled oats
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
  • teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 heaping teaspoon ground cinnamon

INSTRUCTIONS

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Spray a loaf pan with cooking spray.
  2. In a large bowl combine mashed banana, applesauce, honey, egg, almond milk and vanilla until combined using a fork or whisk. To the bowl, add in (all together at once) whole wheat flour, oats, baking powder, baking soda, salt and cinnamon. Still together until combined. Don’t overmix.
  3. Pour into prepared loaf pan, sprinkle oats over top (optional), and bake for 60-70 minutes or until toothpick inserted into center comes out clean with a few crumbs attached. I prefer mine slightly underdone.
  4. Remove from oven and cool completely. Remove from pan and cut into 12 slices or so slices. Keep bread in zip top bag or freeze if needed.

IMG_5245IMG_5246

Before it went in the oven. I like this brand of whole wheat flour but any would do.

IMG_5247IMG_5249

I topped the bread with just a sprinkle of oats to give it a little fancy look instead of just the brown top. Totally optional.

IMG_5252

I really like there is no oil or butter in this recipe and hardly any added sugar. I had a recipe I really liked made with coconut oil but I had to melt that and hope it didn’t solidify and blah, I just need something easy I can throw together. I cut this into at least 12 slices so I get breakfast for about 2 weeks out of one loaf.

IMG_5253

Perfect to me. Enjoy!

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Baking, Breakfast, Dessert. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Whole Wheat Healthy Banana Bread

  1. This looks so healthy and delicious. Can’t wait to try.

Leave a Reply

