Freezer meal ideas

I think many of us start out each new year with a renewed enthusiasm to get in better shape and eat healthy. I’m certainly no exception and while I am addicted to the feeling I get after I exercise (I have trouble getting started most days though, ha), I often slip up in my eating habits. It is tough!

IMG_5231

In mid-December, I invited a few girlfriends over under the guise of having a freezer meal prep party. The actual reason was to visit and drink wine. While we succeeded with the wine, we also assembled a few Crock Pot meals that we can easily throw in the crock before we go to work and come home to a warm, healthy protein we can pair with fresh veggies. Since we got together on a week night, we didn’t really have time to cook anything, so we froze everything and vacuum sealed it so it could be used at a future time. Here are the recipes we made if you are interested:

  • Buffalo Chicken – great on a baked sweet potato, on a flatbread pizza, on a wrap or on a salad. The recipe makes 3 pounds so we had 3 meals out of this one recipe.
  • Chipotle Honey Chicken – same as above or serve alone with healthy sides or in a taco. The link has a recipe for avocado cream sauce that sounds divine.
  • Balsamic Pork Loin – serve with mashed potatoes and a salad.
  • Turkey meatloaf – this isn’t a Crock Pot meal, but can easily be thawed out a day in advance and made into one loaf, two or into mini loaves.

20160101_110309

I bought a bunch of meat (I think each girl had about 7 lbs. of meat when it was all done) and the sides needed to make the meals. Assemble while drinking wine and you are done! For a meal to eat while we were at the house, I made Crock Pot Chicken Enchilada Soup. I doubled the recipe and had plenty for leftovers to freeze.

Snapchat-1800854964785091792

On New Year’s Day, I was off of work. I MAY have had a slight hangover, but I was prepared to make a bunch of freezer meals to start out our month healthy. I make myself breakfast, lunch and dinner every day. I try to make my husband lunch and supper every day as well. Our work week days seem to be packed with running here or there so I like to take a full day every few months to stock up the freezer. I do my best to keep it healthy and use few processed foods.

WARNING: This WILL take you all day and it does take a lot of work to prep. It is 100% worth it to me. Here is what I made – I’ll link to the recipe where possible. This took 7 lbs. of lean burger, a chicken carcass for the soup and about 3-4 pheasant breasts. I double up the recipes to get even more. The full day including a quick trip to the store and clean up took me 7 hours!!

Snapchat-8076230374599500877

Along with the chicken soup on the bottom.

Snapchat-5584016551543613760

This was a new recipe for us so I hope the Mr. approves.

20160101_11030220160101_111804

I like to use a few shortcuts like repeatedly using the same few pans (no need to wash in between uses for the most part) and quick cooking rice.

20160101_110316

Your kitchen will be a disaster! I packed the single serve meals in Tupperware or glass bowls and used our vacuum sealer for the sloppy joe mixes. They freeze flat and take up less space.

I encourage you to take a day and make some freezer meals. You and your waistline will be happy. If you can’t find time for a full day, try a half day or next time you make taco meat just double or triple the recipe so you have leftovers to freeze. Enjoy!

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Dinner idea, Exercise, Feisty Eats, FeistyLife, Main Dish, Misc. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Freezer meal ideas

  1. I would totally go to your freezer party. I’ve seen Wildtree ones advertised which I’ve avoided due to the high cost associated with the products ($75 just for their brand of spices and oils + cost of ingredients). This looks very cool and a lot of fun.

Leave a Reply

