Cookie Butter Banana Bread

Two old, mushy brown bananas sat on my counter for a week. Sometimes when they get old, I give them to the dog as a treat or mush them up in my yogurt. But, on a cold Sunday, I put them to proper use by putting them in a banana bread with cookie butter. Yes, cookie butter. It’s basically Biscoff like cookies ground into the consistency of peanut butter and it is glorious. Truth be told, I always buy bananas because there is always banana bread. There are so many recipes I have yet to try. I’m working on it though!

cookiebutterbread.jpb

My Mom and Dad went to Minnesota and that lucky duck (Mom) popped into a Trader Joe’s. She was sweet enough and brought me back a jar. I am rationing rationed it as needed and it was definitely needed in this bread. If you don’t have cookie butter, no fear – just sub in peanut butter or maybe even Nutella.

IMG_5222

Recipe adapted, via Crazy For Crust, this is in no means healthy, but it is tasty

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1/4 cup vegetable oil
  • 1/2 cup Cookie Butter
  • 1/4 cup nonfat plain Greek yogurt
  • 2 old bananas
  • 2 eggs
  • 7 tablespoons buttermilk or sour milk
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour

Instructions

  1. Preheat oven to 350°. Spray your loaf pan with cooking spray.
  2. Mix together sugar, oil, cookie butter and yogurt. Mash first with a fork and then use a wire whisk to incorporate together.
  3. Add the eggs, sour milk, salt and baking soda and whisk again.
  4. Add in the flour and whisk just until combined. Do not over mix!
  5. Pour into loaf pan. Bake approximately 50-60 minutes. Check center with a toothpick. If it starts to brown to quickly on top, cover loosely with foil during baking.

IMG_5225

To serve, I suggest slathering it with more cookie butter. This bread would also make excellent French toast!

IMG_5226

Sometimes it seems like the easiest things to make can be the most satisfying.

IMG_5230

If you have family over for the Thanksgiving weekend I suggest this for breakfast with some fruit and just to have for snacking. Enjoy your holiday and time with your family this week. I am blessed beyond my understanding and am so grateful this year for my family and friends. Happy Thanksgiving week! Enjoy!

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Baking, Breakfast, Dessert. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

