Breakfast Apple Granola Crisp

Fall screams of apples and pumpkin flavors. I personally love a crisp, sweet apple but baked into a pie or crisp isn’t actually my preferred dessert. My husband though loves apple crisps. When I saw this recipe, I knew I had to bake it up for him for a switch from our (admittedly boring) breakfasts of yogurt and fruit. When I saw I could get 3 lbs. of honeycrisp apples at the downtown farmers market in Fargo, the deal was sealed.

BreakfastAppleCrisp

Along with fall, we now have short days with little daylight for photos once I get home from work so please excuse the dark pictures. But – this recipe is a winner whether you eat it in the dark or light.

IMG_5209

Breakfast Apple Granola Crisp, recipe from Smitten Kitchen

  • 3 pounds apples, or mix of apples, you like to bake with, peeled, cored and cut into medium chunks (I used honeycrisp)
  • 2 tablespoons lemon juice
  • 3 tablespoons sugar
  • 2 tablespoons cornstarch
  • 2 teaspoons cinnamon
  • Salt
  • 1 stick (8 tablespoons or 4 ounces) salted butter
  • 1/4 cup honey
  • 1/2 cup flour
  • 2 cups oats
  • 2 ounces sliced almonds
  • 1/2 shredded coconut (I used sweetened)

Preheat oven to 400°F. Mix apple chunks with lemon juice, sugar, cornstarch, cinnamon and pinch of salt in a 9×13-inch baking dish until apples are evenly coated. In a medium saucepan, melt the butter with the honey. Stir in the flour, oats, almonds and coconut until clumps form. Sprinkle evenly over the apple mixture and bake in the oven for about 45 to 55 minutes, or until the apples are softened and bubbly. My granola started browning about 15 minutes in, so I covered the dish with some foil for the rest of the baking time except for the last 5 minutes so it browned up nicely. Cool to room temperature and refrigerate. The bake will set up as it cools.

IMG_5210

Just mix in your pan – no need to dirty a bowl.

IMG_5212IMG_5213

Before and after.

IMG_5214

So while this recipe specifically states you should eat this for breakfast, I think you could probably also serve it warmed with a scoop of ice cream for a totally satisfactory dessert.

On the other hand, there isn’t a terribly high amount of sugar in this if you eat a small piece with your breakfast yogurt, you should not feel guilty.

So how did he like his new breakfast? He was a fan. Enjoy!

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Baking, Breakfast, Dessert. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

