Pumpkin Cookie Bars

When we celebrate our birthday at work, we bring treats for everyone else. In other places I have worked, you might expect to get a treat on your birthday instead. Actually, this works out great because then people know it is your birthday and you get some extra attention. Since my birth month is October, I thought it’d be fun to bring in a pumpkin treat. There are about 30 people in my work group so I need a recipe that makes quite a bit.

PCBPM

After a quick Google search, thank you for Google, I found these frosted pumpkin sugar cookie bars. Instead of a soft, cakey, bar – these are more dense like a cookie, just something different enough to be interesting. These bake in a jelly roll pan so I had plenty to share.

IMG_5142

Frosted Pumpkin Sugar Cookie Bars Recipe via Six Sisters Stuff

Ingredients

  • 1 cup salted butter, at room temperature
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 4 large eggs
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla
  • 1 cup pumpkin puree (not pumpkin pie filling)
  • 5-6 cups flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 Tablespoon pumpkin pie spice
  • 1 heaping teaspoon cinnamon

Frosting:

  • 1 (8 oz.) package cream cheese, softened
  • ½ cup butter, softened
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla, clear if you have it
  • 2 tablespoons milk
  • 3-4 cups powdered sugar
  • Additional pumpkin pie spice for garnish

Instructions

In a large bowl, cream butter and sugars until light and fluffy. Add eggs, one at a time, mixing after each egg. Mix in vanilla and pumpkin. In a separate bowl whisk together flour (start with 5 cups and add more if you feel that your dough is too runny), baking soda pumpkin pie spice, and cinnamon. Add to wet mixture and mix just until combined. Spread on a greased, 15x10x1″ jelly roll pan. The dough will be heavy and sticky. I used an offset spatula to spread it.

Bake at 375 degrees for 15-18 minutes, or until bars are a light golden brown (or a toothpick comes out clean when stuck in the middle). Cool completely before frosting.

For frosting, cream butter and cream cheese together, then add vanilla, milk and powdered sugar. If you want the frosting to be thicker, add more powdered sugar. If you want it to be thinner, add more milk. Spread frosting on top of cooled bars. Garnish with a sprinkle of pumpkin pie spice. Cut into bars and serve.

IMG_5144IMG_5145

It is a good thing this made a lot of bars. There was only one left and I brought it home for my husband. I have an ongoing joke (with myself) that no one at work will take the last of a bar or casserole because then they just might have to (oh, the horror) wash a pan. I’m sure most work places are like that? I’m glad these were a hit and wouldn’t hesitate to make them again.

IMG_5148

Regardless of who has to wash the pan – enjoy!

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Baking, Dessert. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

