Fourth Quarter Goals, 2015

Here we are – more than 3/4 of the way through 2015. How did this happen? I really would like summer to last longer. I am determined to try and meet goals I set for myself so let’s check in from the last time. Please note, I am serious about all this stuff but have to lighten this up with some graphics.

Figure a new way to cross train – Success. I created a hybrid and did T25 and Insanity Max30 together. Until I hurt my foot. I haven’t done any exercise other than bike, walk, swim and run since probably the end of July. From my expert Googling skills, I think I have a case of plantar fasciitis. Ugh!

Bike – Success. I feel like I have improved my biking this summer.

Bike

Run – Fail. After the half marathon my confidence took a hit. That and my hurt foot I haven’t done any speed work since the half.

Swim – Success. I swam at least 3-4x per week. I didn’t get out to the lake as much as I had hoped but I did a few times. I felt my sprint triathlon went really well and  I was proud of my progress. I’m not sure if I’ll continue swimming for sprint triathlons just because they are really limited in options that are geographically near to me.

freakin_fish_justtouched_me_funny_dog_water_swimming_lol_picture

Husband time – Fail. We do go out a lot but mostly with friends. That is just kind of our deal and I’m OK with that. We did have a great trip to South Dakota together though.

Outdoors – Huge success. I’ve enjoyed summer so much – I feel like I took advantage of every weekend and every opportunity that came up. I had a lot of family and friend events. Summer 2015 was more than OK.

Outdoorsy

Eating – Huge fail. With all my exercise I just kept eating. Those 10 pounds are now like 15 pounds. UGH! So mad at myself I can’t put down the fork.

Less computer time and still blog – Mostly a success. There were a few weeks this summer where I just didn’t want to blog or do anything on my computer. Now that things have slowed down, I am getting more into the groove and have cooked a few new to me recipes.

Well, this is it. The last 3 months of the year and we are more than half way through October. I plan to give these new goals my all October 18-December 30 and see where it gets me. That is 10 weeks. Don’t I owe it to myself to try something for 10 weeks that will (hopefully) make me happy and healthy? I know after I get through the first 2-3 weeks of healthy eating it’ll go much more smoothly for me. Part of this new plan is laying off running in hopes of healing my feet.

Food – Clean up my eating. I snack way too much. Goodbye eating popcorn 3+ times a week, grabbing pretzels in between meals and having a few too many sweets. I am going to focus on my food as nutrition is the biggest part of weight management. I just don’t feel as comfortable in my clothes and HATE that feeling.

CloseEnough

Health – My main priority is to get my body healthy again. I want my feet back to normal. I haven’t gone to the doctor but have been doing some stuff that seems to help.

Rest – I’ve been going fairly hard this whole year on my workouts. I am proud of that but my body is telling me it needs a rest. The last two weeks of October I will not be doing any running. I doubt I’ll be able to just sit around so I might do some at home workouts or bike. Nothing too serious to bother my foot. And who knows, maybe I’ll enjoy it and just loaf around?!

body-rest-reasons

Workout – I have been reading a lot lately about weight training/lifting. I am going to lift weights 3x a week for 8 weeks. I’m working on a plan and I can use the gym at my work to do these workouts. I’m sure I’ll post on Instagram for accountability and I’m hoping to see some before/after comparison. I really used to feel that the only way to get a workout was to go super hard and do a ton of cardio. I am hoping this will prove otherwise. I’ll start the beginning of November.

grumpyfitness

Cardio – Continue cardio to keep in shape. Depending on my foot, I will either run or if my feet still bother me, I’ll elliptical or bike or do at home DVDs. No cardio workouts more than an hour in time.

Numbers – Stick to my guns and don’t obsess over calories, my weight or using my heart rate monitor. I want to listen more to my body and use its cues to get to my happy place.

Social life – While I want to be serious about my nutrition and workouts, I want to continue to have fun with my friends. I plan to cut back on alcohol (too much booze leads me to bad food choices) but there are a few events I will not skip or miss out on. I can do this smartly. December is full of Christmas parties but I can always be the DD. I love to drink and have fun so this will be difficult for me.

drinking-booze-office-holiday-party-bonus-christmas-season-ecards-someecards

Money – I want to try to save a little bit more money than usual these last few months. We have some fun things coming up and I already started a “want” list of places to go in 2016.

Let’s do this – I am determined to end this year on a good note! Determination and motivation!

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Exercise, Feisty Eats, FeistyLife, Misc. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

